We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Italian Ristorante

Giovanni's Italian Ristorante
AviemoreInverness-Shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
0844 879 9152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 51 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When I went to book a table I wanted to book for 7.30 but was told it was fully booked & I could have 6.45 or 7.45 instead (funny because when 7.30 hit it was particularly empty) The main point about this is that on booking the music playing was a Christmas album.....White Christmas.....it was October?! Bizarre place.
The restaurant is a bit dark throughout and the carpet is truly awful. However decor aside the food was ok, nothing spectacular but decent enough food. Portion sizes could have been slighty on the larger side but apart from that it was an ok dining experience. If you are staying in Aviemore I would suggest anyone should visit Papa Rocks - good fresh food with a varied menu,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, all feedback is important to us here at Giovanni's,. I will pass your comments onto our kitchen team who use any feedback given from our clients, in a constructive way to improve menu choices for future customers

Kind Regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bit of a bland mugging”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were staying at the Highland Resort and booked a table at Giovanni's on our first night. We didn't need to as it was very quiet, but service was slow and drinks were forgotten.
The food was very bland, and didn't taste at all fresh. Out of 3 red wines on the menu, they only had 2 and the meal was almost twice the price as our Saturday night off site.
Take advantage of the resort's central location and try some of the great food Aviemore has to offer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Feedback is very important to us to continuously grow and develop in order to provide the highest guest service available. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food in the restaurant. We always strive for the best possible food and service for all guests and I am sad to hear that you did not find this the case during your dining experience. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to all relevant people.

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Dined at Giovanni's on the first night staying at the MacDonald hotel. Our evening meals were included on the price. There was lots to choose from and a few options you had to pay a supplement (fish/steak). The food was okay but, wasn't the really garlicky deliciousness I love when dining at an Italian place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for your review, all of the team here at Givanni'sy work hard to give all of our customers an excellent experience when they choose to dine with us, I will pass your comments on to our team, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great family Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had dinner here with the kids during our visit. Gio's pizza is a must when visiting. The wife had a lovely pasta dish n the kids thoroughly enjoyed the spaghetti balls!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, the Chefs within our kitchen work hard to bring you the very best of local ingredients prepared to a high standard, I will pass your comments onto our team, who are always keen to hear feedback from our customers

Best regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“exelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

loved dinner in tipical italian restaurant Giovannis where i got great pizza and pasta and first class service

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for your review, we are always pleased to hear customer comments on their experience whilst dining in our restaurant

Best Regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Italian Ristorante also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Giovanni's Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.