We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Macduis Inn

Ben Macduis Inn
72 Grampian Road, Aviemore, Scotland
01479 811754
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Family friendly restaurant/bar serving a wide range of Scottish dishes prepared daily on the premises using the best of Scottish produce,Our chefs are very flexible and more than willing to accommodate any request.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunchtime treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We visited Ben Macduis at lunchtime whilst on holiday in Aviemore. From walking through the door the service and attention that we received was first class. Whilst we did not have a meal the menu looked very good with a very good choice and the our lunchtime food of toasties, soup and chips was promptly delivered, and absolutely excellent value. It was a really nice place to eat and had we found it earlier in our holiday we would have come back for an evening meal. I would not think twice about recommending it for value for money and quality!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    76
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant serving delicious, large portions of food. Great helpful and friendly staff!
A mistake was made with my order, and staff happily, quickly replace it without a fuss and we're very apologetic which was great!

Definetlty worth a visit if in the area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We visited party of 2 adults 1 child, although quite busy, we were shown to our table straight away, nice atmosphere and clean, varied menu to suit every one, good service, and the food was delicious , not overly expensive either.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

First visit was followed by 5 more visits in total during a 2 week family holiday plus extra visits to the bar! Food excellent, tasty and well presented. Service was delivered with a smile and a banter. Menu varied to suit all palates. Special thanks go to the staff and chef who went out of their way to accommodate a family member who has a special diet due to health reasons - nothing was too much trouble. Local musician nights added that extra touch to throughly enjoyable occasions.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We popped in here for a drink, bit of an odd place which feels like a cross between a pub and a holiday park (think its the bench seats in the bar area) with the whole room being noisy and with a couple of tvs showing sport. But something, maybe the friendly staff and interesting menu, made me check tripadvisor for reviews. Those reviews tempted us back to eat the next night and boy am I glad we did!

Wonderful meals had by both of us, my husbands broth starter was apparently delicious. His chicken supreme mains the same, my pork steaks in mustard sauce were absolutely perfectly cooked. This place definitely has a chef who knows what he is doing! The waiting staff were very friendly and chatted about the dishes.

£40 for two starters, two mains and two drinks - very good value for what we had.

We ate early evening and there were several families there, obviously small children very welcome and highchairs provided. Marking atmosphere down simply due to noise levels (wooden floors and furniture, blinds at window mean no soft furnishings to absorb chatter!) which meant that not cosy, definitely welcoming!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Macduis Inn also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Ben Macduis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Macduis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.