We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairngorm Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cairngorm Guest House to your Saves list
Cairngorm Guest House
139 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Cairngorm Guest House and had wonderful hosts, lovely appointed clean room and wonderful food. Gail was very helpful re tips of where to go and visit and our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts very tasty. I particularly loved the fruit salad with lots of berries and fresh fruit. Pete did amazing poached eggs and there was a special for breakfast each day to add interest, Very happy overall with our stay at Aviemore at Cairngorm Guest House.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    60
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
98
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Last minute stay as the place we did go to was ..............,,,,,,!! But cairngorm g. House a perfect place to stay ,nice folk ,can't do enough for you ,and the breakfast was getting up for ,even if it was half a hour earlier than I was thinking ,a clock thing not working right in my head, yip just about perfect ,would tell anyone it s the place to stay if in that part of the country

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

As per other reviewers, this place isn't 5 star but then again you aren't paying 5 star prices. Got off to an average start with a very impersonal greeting from a Margaret but gradually improved with a great finish with Gail ( I think) in the morning. Facilities are basic but clean and comfortable, house is in a great location and close to everything. Shower was a bit hit & miss especially for a taller guest but managed in the end.
Good choice for breakfast in the morning, if I may suggest the option of plunger coffee? I judge a place on the quality of its coffee and rate highly when plunger coffee is an option.
Overall an enjoyable 1 night stay in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
139cairngorm, Owner at Cairngorm Guest House, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We would just like to explain about our coffee . We use fair trade filter coffee supplied by Matthew Algee . (Lots of tastes and trials of different types) . The coffee filters into a vacuum flask which is really the same as using a plunger type jug.
Sorry to hear you had trouble with your shower. They are adjustable. I wish you had commented at the time . I am glad though you managed to resolve it and you enjoyed your stay in Aviemore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

this is a great bed and breakfast in the centre of Aviemore, so very convenient for exploring the beautiful area. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the hosts Peter and Gail make you feel very very welcome. Breakfast is a feast, all local produce, beautifully cooked and served by very friendly staff. A great base for a fab holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very nice property with excellent and accommodating hosts. Very nice breakfast - don't miss the porridge. Lovely common room, laundry facilities, etc. Rooms are small but well appointed - though bathrooms might be a squeeze for some and getting consistent water temperature can be a bit tricky. Would definitely stay again but be sure to book ahead - we booked in March for a visit in October!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After trying quite a few guest houses, hotels and B&B which we disregard because they were either too expensive or not enough character we stumbled upon this place. Ideal location in easy reach of the town centre and activities. They seem to have thought of all the small things - hair dryers, soap, tea/coffee, wifi, homemade cake in the room etc etc. would def recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and was bitterley disappointed. We arrived to quite a rushed welcome i.e this is that, check out is this etc. inside of the hotel is a replica of alot of hostels i have stayed in travelling through oz and nz. Rooms were were very clean but furnished to a very basic standard and were really small. Breakfast was...well i didnt finish it which says alot! Black pudding was hard as a rock and sausages were non-descript. And upon leaving we were packing our stuff into the car and one of the staff chased us out as though we were about to do a runner! Not a great way to end our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairngorm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Guest House

Address: 139 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter, Gail and staff invite you to our lovely Victorian home in the Cairngorm National Park. Some rooms on ground floor, some with mountain views, some with kingsize beds. 24 hour access, drying/storage, free parking and Wifi. Real log fire in guest lounge. All amenities – ten minutes walk. Ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cairngorm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Guest House Hotel Aviemore
Cairngorm Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairngorm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.