We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cakes for miles!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Potting Shed Tearoom Inshriach

The Potting Shed Tearoom Inshriach
Inshriach Nursery, Aviemore PH22 1QS, Scotland
44 (0) 1540 651 287
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in Aviemore
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Aviemore
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best cakes for miles!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Inshriach Nursery has many herbs and heathers to buy and they are hardy as used to cold temperatures. The garden is lovely. Parts are in woodland with a burn running through it. In the summer you can sit at tables in the garden with your tea and cakes. This is the best bit.....the cakes are amazing. All home baked and decorated. Some with nuts, some fruits, some coffee or chocolate and of course cream. So delicious. The owners have bird feeders up just outside the tea room. You can enjoy watching many different birds and often squirrels while having a tea or coffee with cake!! Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    30
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fab cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We're regular visitors to the area and have visited here many times. Great selection of homemade cakes to choose from, all yummy. Part of the Potting Shed tearoom looks out onto a feeding station for the many different varieties of birds, also red squirrels, which visit to gorge themselves on the peanuts and other food put out for them and there can be dozens of birds to watch at any one time with great close up views of them. There is a garden to look around which changes dramatically throughout the seasons with the different types of plants. There's also a selection of plants, mainly alpines for sale. The owners have also recently opened a 'Potting Shed' tearoom in Kingussie which we have also visited, same lovely cakes. Looking forward to our next visit. Also lots of great walks to do in this area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a lovely place to visit for lots of reasons. The first and foremost is the cake - an amazing selection of truly delicious treats. The coffee is also very nice. The second is the fascinating view from the glass-fronted tearoom which looks onto what can be best described as a play park for birds, covered in hanging food containers. I'm not that keen on birds but it was fascinating to see them so close up but with a glass wall between you. You can also sometimes see red squirrels and bird species that you wouldn't normally get to see such as woodpeckers. There is a nice but short woodland walk where you can see some of the plants sold in the nursery in place. There weren't an abundance of plants around when I visited but I guess that depends on the time of year and what you're looking for. The biggest downside of this place is trying to work out which of the delicious cakes to try!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a Cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We choose to visit on a recommendation from a RSPB guide at another Bird place. The change to sit and watch some wildlife and see a Red squirrel was good but when we got there the cakes were fantastic they are all home made and like nothing I have ever had. We sat for a couple of hours drinking coffee eating cake and watching the birs up close as they fed on the feeders right outside the cafe.No red squirrel but the cake made up for it. Not really the time of year for the nursery but it did look nice as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best cake in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

When we were first told about the Potting Shed I have to admit we found it quite difficult to find. However, thank goodness we stuck it out and found it as it is well worth a visit.

We haven't used the garden centre part so I am just reviewing the coffee shop.

It is tucked up round the back of the premises. We always go in mid/late September and they have their wee Christmas decorations out. They have the finest selection of homemade cakes I have ever seen with at least 8 different ones to choose from. They also offer all the usual teas, coffees and cold drinks.

Other than its cakes, the other selling point is the amazing view you get of the local wildlife. The tearoom is surrounded by trees that have bird feeders on them. This allows you to drink tea and eat cake within inches of birds and other animals.

We always visit The Potting Shed after we've been for a walk, but we would definitely go out of our way to drive there every time we visit Aviemore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Potting Shed Tearoom Inshriach also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Potting Shed Tearoom Inshriach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Potting Shed Tearoom Inshriach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.