We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter skills course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairngorm Adventure Guides

Cairngorm Adventure Guides
20 Railway Terrace, Aviemore, Scotland
07736 933 169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 30 Activities in Aviemore
Type: Classes/Workshops, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Outdoor Activities in Aviemore, specialising in Rock Climbing, Abseling, Mountain Biking, Hill walking, Munros, Winter Mountaineering, Winter Skills, Ice Climbing and Ski Mountaineering. We are highly qualified and experienced guides who know the area well. We cater for all levels of abilities and aspirations, including individuals, families, stag & hen parties, university mountaineering clubs and hill walking clubs.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winter skills course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This course was recommended to me by a friend how had recently done the one-day introduction to winter walking and had loved it. She was right - Liam is an excellent instructor. He knew exactly where to take us to demonstrate a range of techniques for staying safe on different kinds of snow and ice: avalanche awareness, walking techniques, crampons, building snow holes, practising self-arrest, etc. He was happy to answer all manner of silly questions and have a giggle, but also kept the course moving along so we covered a lot. The navigation day was excellent too, very practical. I can't imagine a better course for preparing walkers to make informed judgements about what they're doing in the hills in winter, I'd highly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Intro to Winter Mountaineering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great weekend with Rocia on the mountain. Well explained and brilliantly guided. Experienced a great climb up aladdins couloir and desended jacobs ladder on saturday, topped off with the Fiachall Ridge on Sunday in some pretty hairy condition. Will be back. Cheers to Liam for organising everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Navigation one day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We did a one day navigation course with Liam. His teaching was brilliant. Within one day we all felt much more confident navigating in the hills . The course was pitched at our level and structured in such a good way that learning was easy. I will be definitely be booking a more advanced navigation course with Liam. Thanks again

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Navigation Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We did a one day navigation course with Liam. It was an awesome day out, pitched at the right level we wanted, fun, well structured and we all came away from it inspired to learn more and book onto another course.
Liam made the day educational and informative as well as great fun and good craic!
I would 100% recommend Liam and his company to anyone looking to get out in the hills with a guide.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Guided Winter Munro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I recently went on a guided winter Munro day out in the Cairngorms. Over on holidays from Australia, I wanted to head up into the Scottish mountains and experience something different but having no previous experience or knowledge when it comes to winter hill walking, It was important that I was with someone who knew what they were doing. I definitely made the right choice to go with Cairngorm Adventure Guides. It was such an awesome day- just like being out with a more experienced friend! Thanks Liam!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairngorm Adventure Guides also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Cairngorm Adventure Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairngorm Adventure Guides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.