We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sort break stayed from the 7-9-13 to the 10-9-13” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER SALE NOW ON!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“sort break stayed from the 7-9-13 to the 10-9-13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

my wife and I stayed at hotel for a 3 night break and I must say it was a great hotel in the heart of the cairngorms the hotel is child friendly with plenty of chield active,s such as the funhouse and landmark at carrbridge 6 miles up the road .the staff at the hotel are very polight and helpful .and the hotel room,s are of agood size and r kept very clean my wife and I had a very enjoyable 3 day stay .so well done to the staff .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments on your recent stay and do hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    546
    329
    168
    95
See reviews for
682
442
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I great hotel with plenty to do for the whole family with a pool, disco, outdoor activities, soft play and crazy golf to name a few. There was a great park called Landmark which had plenty to do and you can even use your tesco points which made it a cheap day out.
Had a great meal in the bistro, though the budget (£16) for the DBB option did not go to far and you need to phone ahead for a table reservation.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to people from all walks of life and plan to go back in winter.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Hilton Coylumbridge is a well-run, clean, relatively quiet older hotel in a beautiful wooded area outside of Aviemore, Scotland, U.K. The location is close to many activities year 'round, and the area inspires relaxation. We stayed in June, and were impressed that the staff handles one tour after another with grace and efficiency.

Meals are included with many of the room packages, and the buffet-style breakfast has a huge variety to cater to all tastes. Our experience with food service was that the staff was friendly, and very willing to help, and that service is slow, and the food a bit over-priced. The air circulation system in both restaurants could use work.

There is live music in the lobby most evenings, and the artists seem to be chosen for their ability to appeal to a broad spectrum of ages, nationalities and tastes.

Our room was on the upper floor. There is no lift (elevator.) The hallways are very narrow, and somewhat confusing. Ours was the furthest room in use, as there seems to have been some wet carpet in the section beyond. Halls smell very musty, and air circulation isn't good. We requested a fan, and were provided with a VERY large one, which took up most of the available floor space. The room was clean and tidy, and seemed to have been refurbished...a bit more space and/or updating is in order...glad we didn't try to cram winter clothes and/or sports equipment in with us.

The staff is very accommodating. There seemed to be a lot of trainees, but all were working hard to please guests. Our bill had several errors on it that we didn't discover until we received our credit card statement. A small thing: We were charged for our newspapers that are gratis in the U.S.

All in all, it was an enjoyable experience at a nice hotel. We will probably return.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quietest, but most difficult to reach. Stay farthest from the pool for less quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and that you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis and Harris, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect for our group. The hotel itself was comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The only issue I have is on my first night I discovered that my bed had not been changed since the previous guest had slept in it. After complaining to Reception this matter was duly rectified.

Over all our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I was sorry to read that you had an issue on arrival but pleased that we were able to rectify this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have been going to the Hilton Coylumbridge for the last 6 years. We had another excellent experience, this summer (August 2013). Rooms clean and tidy, food excellent in the Bistro and Restaurant. With regards to the staff, always helpful, friendly and make the holiday. The entertainment in the foyer is great and everybody has a great time. Great new gym, which is small but has everything you need for a quick workout!
We would really like to see the children's menu updated, not all children like chips and as a parent I would love to see children offered more healthy options. Chicken with vegetables and gravy is just as easy as chips and chicken nuggets!

Room Tip: The family suites provide additional room and you can get them at a good rate if you book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Many thanks for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in Hilton Coylumbridge for 2 nights in mid-June 2013. Foyer, reception and welcome all excellent however then things went a bit downhill. I had knee problems and stairs were very difficult. There are no lifts here and we were on the second floor. Winding narrow stairs and along narrow corridors. Both in need of a "facelift". The bedroom while not over spacious was too in need of a facelift. Bathroom however was very modern and fresh. Tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms with complimentary shortbread was however very welcome. Food was excellent however you need to book in advance for an evening meal if not on half board. The second evening we were unable to have a table in the dining room and had to opt for the Bistro Bar. There were only a few tables occupied in the Bistro but service was quite slow. The steak, when it came was however cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. I am sorry that you found the stairs difficult, although had we been advised of this then we would have been able to move you to a ground floor room to make your stay more comfortable. We do recommend that our guests pre book their dining times as, during busy periods, we cannot recommend having preferred dining times available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend at the coylumbridge hilton. Amazingly friendly staff throughout from checking in, the bistro, the bar, the housekeeping, the restaurant. We had a family suite, as there were only 2 of us the extra space was fab. Sparkly clean bathroom and cosy soft robes! We ate the first night in the bistro and the steaks were great. Cooked perfect and served with real onion rings, crispy fries, sauce and ceaser salad mmmmmm! The second night we ate in the restaurant, nice menu, nice wine our only criticism was that we were asked if we required anything else and given our bill as we ate our desserts - perhaps slightly premature as given the chance to finish we may have had coffee etc!! Pleasant music in the foyer finished off the evening and then an enormous breakfast from the buffet which was being constantly topped up. Forgot to mention they have the Thai lodge in the grounds offering spa treatments, both me and hubby took this up and at £30 it was great value for money and extremely relaxing. Will be returning here in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and do hope that we can welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.