We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it and will visit it again over and over!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER SALE NOW ON!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
durham, united kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We love it and will visit it again over and over!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We have stayed at the Hilton Coylumbridge many times, with and without children. As a family resort, you could not choose anywhere more appropriate. There is no sense that you have to keep the kids quiet or sitting still all the time, staff seem more than happy for children to play and have fun in the hotel. For me, this is an amazing bonus as it means the children are happy, we (the grown ups) are happy and rested and not stressing about childrens' behaviour all the time. There are 2 pools in the hotel, one specifically for children, with a splash pool and slide. A little shop selling floats, costumes is handy if you've forgotten yours. We stayed at Christmas and were delighted on Christmas day when there was a child friendly christmas buffet! fabulous!

If I was visiting Aviemore on business etc. I'd be disinclined to stay here. Much as I love the hotel, it might be a bit noisy and distracting for someone trying to do some work.

Looking forward to our next visit very soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments on your stay at Hilton Coylumbridge, and do hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    546
    329
    168
    95
See reviews for
682
442
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Coylumbridge. The hotel is perfect for young families with lots of activities and facilities for children. Our 12 year old was a bit borried but I think he missed having company of his own age. Our 8 and 3 year old had a fab time. The 8 year old in particular enjoyed the kids club and activities. Our 3 year old loved the evening entertainment. All of them enjoyed the pool.

The staff were very friendly and efficient. There were lots of staff available and facilities such as booster seats in the restaurant etc were always available. The food was lovely and good value through out dinner inclusive deal. Lots of choice and fast service. the breakfasts were particularly good with a wide range of hot and cold items including freshly cooked omlettes, waffles and crepes.

As a parent, I found the hotel really relaxing and safe. I felt comfortable allowing the older kids some freedom to go off on their own (e.g. play tennis or football), knowing they were is close proximity to the hotel. Bar items (including sweets and hot choc etc) were expensive.

The room was comfortable with everything you expect. This including bathrobes which were useful when going to the pool. The seperate area with bunk beds worked a treat when getting the kids to sleep etc.

The hotel was located very close to Aviemore which seems like a lovely town. Lots of shopping if thats your thing. We didn't get enough time to explore the area as much as we like but hopefully they'll be another time. We went to the Highland Safari Park which was really enjoyable. Quite low key but enough to keep the kids occupied. We also went to Loch Morlich and hired a canoe. Lovely spot and really enjoyable.

All in all, we really enjoyed our staff and would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

Room Tip: Great deals on the webside for families with young children. We also were offered another nite at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Firstly, I admit we didn't stay here. We turned up on spec to see if they had space (we had previously tried the Macdonald Hotels Resort but the roooms there were terrible and expensive so we thought we would try here instead).

Anyway, we asked the receptionist for rates and to see the room. She was first class, very helpful and showing us the room was no bother at all.

However, the standard room and the "family suite" were small, tired, dated and expensive (£165 and c.£208 DB&B). The suite was a bigger room which appeared to have been subdivided and bunk beds squeezed in.

Hotel common areas need money spent on them, the food coming from the restaurant look average (and was expensive).

We decided to give it a miss and come home. By comparison, we stayed in a Travelodge a couple of nights before, it was a quarter of the price (excluding dinner and breakfast) but even adding that in, it was still way less than this would have been.

In summary, tired, dated hotel. Small rooms, expensive but staff very helpful.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for your comments concerning your visit to Hilton Coylumbridge. I am sorry that you did not choose to stay with us on this occasion. The rate quoted did include dinner, bed & breakfast, full use of the Leisure facilitites, entertainment in the Foyer and a full programme of children's activitites. You do not say how many children were travelling with you but the rate quoted would have included all adults and any children 10 years or under. Children 11 years and over pay for all meals as taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The shine has come off Hilton Coylumbridge. Hundreds of screaming kids, horrible food, hard and tiny beds, broken windows, dated decoration, staff who don't seem to understand English very well or are just rude (with a few nice exceptions it has to be said), overpriced drinks... I feel completely ripped off!

We stayed here for a family weekend away expecting great service and a relaxing getaway - we didn't get it. Aviemore (which is two miles away!) is pretty dull unless I suppose you're particular outdoorsy.

If we'd expected cheap and cheerful this might have been ok. As it was, completely disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
It was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your weekend stay with us. Our hotel is a family resort and during school holidays we are very busy with families and children. If you would like to contact me separately regarding the other issues that you encountered I will be more than happy to look into this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in August on a dinner, bed & breakfast rate.

Good Points:
Hotel is in a fantastic location and we loved watching the red squirrels in the trees outside our room. Very close to Cairngorms and loads of things to do and places to visit.
Staff were very friendly and we loved the banter with them.
The hotel was very clean.

Bad Points
With regards to food, breakfast was good but dinner menu was awful and a complete rip off. Don't stay on the dinner, b&b rate - go into Aviemore itself where there are loads of places to eat. The menu was awful and very limited, Pre-prepared starters and deserts. Poor quality main courses and tiny portions. A burger with fries cost £15 and was worth about £8. Also watchout for the coffee kiosk. 2 medium coffees and two packets of crisps cost £9.40. Extortionate!
The rooms and corridors are a bit dated. Stayed in a twin room with the worst bed I have ever slept in. The mattress springs could be felt thru the thin sheets and squeaked everytime I moved. Awful. I ended up taking the 2 spare pillows out of the wardrobe and lying on these to get one could nights sleep. Left exhausted. No face clothes in the tiny bathroom and the bath towels were actually hand towels. So funny trying to dry ourselves with these. Room was also very hot and no air con but I guess there are very few nights were the temperature is unbearable at that lattitude.
The restaurant needs a complete refurb. The curtains are hanging like rags on the windows and there is only one toaster for breakfast so you can imagine the queues.
Outside the grounds are bit run down too. Lights are broken and it needs a good tidy up. I can see the appeal for families with kids but for me the awful bed made 3 nights seem like a trial and we left exhausted. We are now in the Hilton Glasgow for 3 nights on a similar rate and the difference between the 2 hotels is astonishing.

Room Tip: Avoid dinner, b&b rate - better quality food is available in Aviemore for half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at hilton Coylumbridge. I am sorry that you did not enjoy dinner with us, our menu has very recently been redesigned but your comments will be passed onto our restaurant manager. The Grant Room restaurant will be closing in a few weeks to allow for a major refurbishment to take place and is due to reopen at the end of November 9subject to change). It is not possible for me to identify if you mentioned at the time of your stay how uncomfortable you found your bed but can assure if that every effort would have been made to make your stay more enjoyable if you had done so. I can only assume that you were not given the correct towels during your stay as we do place both hand and bath towels within the rooms for our guests, and if requested arrangements would have been made for the correct size of towel to have been made available had it been raised at the time.

Our outside grounds are regularly maintained and we are currently replacing many of the low level lighting that are located around the paths and carparks.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Weekend beak with the kids in what we thought based on the price of the rooms was a high quality hotel only to find that we were in fact staying in something akin to a holiday camp. For the prices charges the standard of accommodation is very poor. As for the inclusive dinner in the DB&B rate the offering was reminiscent of a run-down motorway service station The only saving grace is that the staff were in general extremely friendly and helpful. Didn't make up for the extremely poor value for money though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights in August when it rained heavily but we had a good time. We were glad of the pool, which the children loved, and also the free childrens' food at the restaurant.
There are a number of family suites which are terrific because the children are in a separate room. However, they are not that big, and there is no sofa and table area which you would find in a US suite. The rooms also get quite hot, but you can open the windows. The lack of a thermostat, and the quite tired, dated brown decor and furniture is probably the big let down, not really up to Hilton standard.
But the staff were very friendly and personal and are the best aspect of this hotel. They make you feel part of the family.

Room Tip: Ask not to overlook the cairngorm suite roof (room 172 type area) as there is a humming noise from v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge, Aviemore. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with our room, although our family suites are a very popular choice for those visiting us with children. Your kind comments regarding the staff will be passed on. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.