We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service not so good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant

Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant
125 Grampian Road | Mackenzies Highland Inn, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland
01479 810 672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, service not so good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food was good and really nice priced. But we ordered two different dishes and got two of the same sort, took some minutes before we even got an excuse. To add on to this the other waiter were really not that interested it seemed that it was a problem that we had chosen to eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    13
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent pub, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Had the soup and a sandwich deal, great value at £6 but the soup was tasteless, the mayonnaise in the coleslaw tasted off and the sandwiches were average. Seemed to be a good pub for a drink however

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wells
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good food n price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ate in the garden.
A fellow was very quick in bringing our dog a bowl of water.
Food was wonderful, service was very friendly.
Would have eaten there all the time we spent in Aviemore but only tried it on our last day there.
Would eat here again given the opportunity

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Pulled-pork pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ate here by chance, we were driving through Aviemore and initially dismissed it, but on a second pass my wife looked at the menu and thank God she did because the food was to die for! I had the Highland Burger which had a haggis topping, it was lovely and the homemade coleslaw was out of this world! My wife had the Pulled-pork sandwich which I tried some of too, the pork was melt in your mouth delicious it had been seasoned to perfection. The front of house gentleman with a goatee was on the ball in looking after us, big thumbs up! we would eat here again no problems. The whole meal with a big bottle of bulmers and a pint of beer came in at just over £21!!! great value for the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff, great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I cannot praise the bar staff in this pub enough. They went above and beyond what I would have expected. Pints were very good value for money, as is the food. the menu has a touch of the unique - and provides good value food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.