We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Rock Restaurant

Papa Rock Restaurant
111 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RH, Scotland
+44 1479 810394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“just awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had been here previously as we visited September 2011. I enjoyed the fact it was a relaxed atmosphere and the great selection of gluten free food.
However on our return December 2012 we left very unhappy after 3 main meals which were inedible. I chose the beef strogonoff as it was gf and asked for half rice half chips, i was told they did not do this as an option as the rice was in a bag so I would have to pay for a whole portion of chips extra. It came and i sliced in to what i thought was a mushroom to find it was a very bitter piece of lemon. I was told this was in the recipe, I wouldn't have minded if I could have recognized it was a lemon. I hardly ate a thing as the lemon flavor left an awful taste in my mouth.
My husband and friend both ordered the papa rock burger. It looked impressive however both very hungry men could not digest the tough and unseasoned burger. We complained as they collected our 3 three hardly touched plates and they told us we should have told our waitress when she came to ask if everything was ok.
We were very unhappy paying £70 for our meals and then having to purchase rennie indigestion tablets on our way back to our b&b as both my husband and friend were in a great deal of pain with terrible indigestion,
Safe to say this ruined our night and we will not be returning EVER.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    133
    54
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

A themed restaurant with motor bikes amongst the tables and records on the wall. The food is great, American dinner style - burgers, steaks etc all come in big portions. Service is great, we were shocked at how fast our food arrived and the staff were never far away if we needed them. Would definitely go again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ate here on Saturday night(December 15th) after a friends recommendation. A kind of Hard Rock Cafe/biker theme to the place & it works well.
Served very quickly & fantastic portions, I had beef tacos & the missus had chicken fajita`s, both tasted brilliant.
Good selection of beers & wines to accompany.
Staff were hugely friendly & treated us to complimentary mulled wine & mince pies before leaving.
Would heartily recommend to anyone. Braw.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tain highland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

we ate here a few times, good food at great prices,recommended for travellers,good beer and wines too and not too pricey

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found this restaurant by default and so glad we did. Service and food excellent. Never had so much quality food served on my plate anywhere and I have been to lots of restaurants although mostly in Glasgow. Looking forward to visiting Aviemore again even just to visit PapaRock.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Rock Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Papa Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Rock Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.