We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cafe in Aviemore!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Active Cafaidh

Active Cafaidh
Grampian Road, Aviemore, Scotland
01479 780 000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Scottish, Continental, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Active Cafaidh (Gaelic for Cafe) is the unique place in Aviemore to meet, eat & relax. Experience a friendly relaxed atmosphere and outstanding mountain views. Our food is all freshly prepared using the finest quality Scottish produce. Menu options include delicious savoury crepes, venison burgers, daring omelettes and hearty mountain platters with fresh soups prepared daily and superb coffee & home baking. We always have selections for people with special diets. Take time to browse our bookshop and Scottish music collection. The cafaidh has free Wi-Fi and 2 public access computers. We are available for private functions and are fully licensed offering a range of drinks including local beers, whisky cocktails & wines.Relax and enjoy the Active Cafaidh experience!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best cafe in Aviemore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Love this place. I always make sure I go back when I visit Aviemore as I know I'm guaranteed a fantastic coffee, cake or lunch - the food is properly excellent after outdoor pursuits - as well as great service from a friendly team. Last time we went there was a photography exhibition as well, so we stayed for ages and enjoyed the views inside and out! The sofa was so comfy we could have stayed all day. Highly recommend the coffee and walnut cake!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Active A, at Active Cafaidh, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Active Cafaidh. It is always our aim to give all of our customers the same experience ,

Kind Regards

Craig Weir
Cafaidh Senior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Filling food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Brilliant place for food and drink - not seen it too busy purely because it is a little away from the centre of Aviemore. Well worth the trip. Sandwiches have to be seen to be believed!! Try a bacon or sausage door stop. Lovely seating area, books and magazines and such friendly and helpful staff. With the shop downstairs all staff are a wealth of local information for walks etc.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Active A, Manager at Active Cafaidh, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Cafaidh and look forward to your next visit
Kind Regards
Active Cafaidh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's not often up I'm north but when I do venture up this way I always head along to the Active Cafe. Smiling staff who can't do enough for you, a great range of lovely food, freshly prepared, and a warm, comfortable atmosphere to enjoy it in with spectacular views :-) Always a delight to eat here, I never miss it - highly recommended! Best cafe in Aviemore :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Active A, Manager at Active Cafaidh, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our fantastic Cafaidh and look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Active Cafaidh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy Yummy Yummy I will be back soon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Amazing home cooked breakfasts and cakes to die for! It set us up so well for our busy day that we had to go back for some cake later on! The staff were lovely, so attentive and the girl I spoke to gave me heaps of tips on fun things to do in the area! The food had a real Highland flavour to it and the atmosphere was cosy and relaxed! I will be back soon and bringing friends!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Active A, Manager at Active Cafaidh, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Cafaidh, your kind comments are always welcomed
and we look forward to your next visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathspey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smiling staff and great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My preferred coffee stop in Aviemore. Staff who remember you and smile - that goes a long way - while serving you great coffee. A tasty, well-planned menu, great surroundings with a variety of seating options, stunning view plus interesting books and music to browse. There's a real issue in Aviemore with complacency when it comes to service - i.e. lots of tourists, no need to try that hard. No such issues at Active!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Active A, at Active Cafaidh, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Active Cafaidh. It is always our aim to give all of our customers the same experience ,

Kind Regards

Craig Weir
Cafaidh Senior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Active Cafaidh also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Active Cafaidh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Active Cafaidh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.