We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest cafe around Aviemore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Druie

The Druie
Rothiemurchus Centre | Inverdruie, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
01479 810005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Family Fare, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Druie takes its name from the burn(river) that rushes behind the restaurant and always seems in a hurry to carry clear, sparkling mountain water from the Cairngorms to the River Spey. We are open daily 9.30am - 5.00pm for locally roasted coffee, locally sourced tasty lunches,leaf teas and delicious homemade cakes, with a focus on dishes prepared from lovingly home produced beef from our pedigree herd of Highland cattle,our velvety venison from the ancient forest of Rothiemurchus and seasonal produce from specialist producers, served in a relaxed, friendly environment. Whilst enjoying your coffee or lunch at the Druie, you can enjoy the exhibition of local artwork which changes each month, especially selected by Ellie, who manages the Gallery at Loch an Eilein and is also a member of Creative Cairngorms.
london
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nicest cafe around Aviemore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My wife and I stopped by here for coffee and cake, over Easter 2012. Of the various places we tried around Aviemore, it was easily the nicest cafe. The manager was really friendly. The service was good. The cakes were nice. The interior is done out nicely. There’s also a nice shop attached.

Recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    56
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brora, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We made a special trip because of the reviews on tripadvisor....and sorry to say we were a little disappointed....the home made soup, leek and courgette - was thin, watery and quite tasteless...but the bread that came with it was great, thick rye.... On the other hand, my coffee (which was great) and the home made carrot and parsnip cake was delicious....
We were hoping to go for dinner but the restaurant closes at 5 now - although all the information I had read before we went said otherwise....hence the disappointment.....
I would also say that the welcome - initially - was a little cool.....and people coming in were being asked if they were having 'lunch' which made me a little uncomfortable, witnessing one small group...stammering....well....yes....soup and something....it made ME feel like they only wanted people in at 'lunch' time if they were ordering a meal.....however, soup - or cake - or whatever a customer wants should be fine unless you have a notice on the door that says - BETWEEN 1 AND 2 YOU CAN ONLY COME IN IF YOU ORDER 'LUNCH' - it's a cafe....not a restaurant - and every table was full.....so I felt that their attitude was a little 'off' - I would go back for the cake and coffee though!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothiemurchus, Manager at The Druie, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at The Druie and we are sorry to hear it was not as expected. The Druie opened in February 2011 and we do just open during the day now, although our own website confirms this, some sites may still suggest otherwise as they are linked back to the previous business, but we try to clarify this where possible.

Our soup is freshly prepared every day and the flavours do change as a result of this, we have let our chef know your feedback so he can make sure our menu is always at a consistent quality and revise recipes where needed. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your rye bread and cakes as we have a fantastic baking team here at the Druie and they take great pride in what they produce.

We will be using your feedback on how you heard customers being welcomed as an example in our fortnightly team training sessions, but have also held immediate additional training. I can assure you that at your next visit this will have been rectified, and none of our customers should be welcomed in this manner. We will also be making it clearer to customers coming into the Druie if we are only serving from the lunch menu at that time.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Druie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This restaurant has the best Burger on the planet. The staff are first class.
If you plan to eat out for lunch, take the family & enjoy. We have eaten there several times in the last four years and will continue (fantastic restaurant) in a lovely area .

Merrouni family - 9th/4/12

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good cafe let down by rude manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We visited The Druie in April 2012 and were met with one of the worst greetings I have ever encountered from a restauranteur. We asked the manager for a table for coffee and cakes, she replied "Hmmmm...OK, but you can't sit for an hour and a half nursing your drinks". I probably would have left if I wasn't so aghast. This was 2:30pm, not even the height of lunchtime. I work in the hospitality industry and know that it can be annoying when people "nurse" their coffee, however this is just the nature of the business and it is our job to accept this with a smile.

The cafe is nice, the cakes were lovely, but our experience was sorely let down by a rude manager who really should think about a different career!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothiemurchus, Manager at The Druie, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your visit to The Druie and we are incredibly sorry for the experience you encountered whilst you were here. We would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard of service and certainly not how we would expect any of our team to welcome our customers. As you can appreciate it is always a slight juggling act at lunchtime to ensure the high demand for tables can be met in a small business like The Druie, but no team member should ever treat a customer in this manner.

As well as using your feedback as an example in our fortnightly team training sessions, we have held immediate, additional staff training focused on making sure that each customer receives a warm welcome however busy we are and I can assure you that at your next visit this would not be the manner in which you will be welcomed.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies and thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had to sit outside, which was quite cold but our choice and the food more than made up for it. Not cheap but excellent quality. If you like soup try the Cullen Skink, and my family feel the beef burgers make all others seem inadequate.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Druie also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 

Been to The Druie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Druie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.