We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Winking Owl

The Winking Owl
123 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RH, Scotland
+44 1479 812368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 51 Restaurants in Aviemore
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: Gastropub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Opening times: Monday to Wednesday: 11am until 12 midnight Thursday to Saturday: 11am until 1am Sunday: 12.30Pm until 12.00 Midnight Food Served: Monday to Saturday: 12 midday until 9.30Pm Sundays: 12.30Pm - 9.30Pm If you'd like to have a meal, please phone to book a table to avoid disappointment as we are very busy at peak times of the day.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This has to be one of my favourite places to eat in Aviemore. The food is excellent as are the portion sizes.

My only gripe is with a female member of staff who was waiting on my table. The waitress seemed to find it "strange" that I was eating there alone and did not hide this fact; she commented more than once. It made me feel rather uncomfortable.

This gripe is far outweighed by the good food and general homely atmosphere the pub provides.

My advice is try the mac and cheese.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    102
    40
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Really nice wee pub, good ambience but terrible food. Food was worse cheap processed and almost inedible.
Go for beers but just make sure you eat before you go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Friendly Bar with Decent Pub Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you're looking for a family place or a gastro/foodie experience, maybe this place won't be for you. But, if like us, you'd had a busy day of cruising around on the Whiskey trail and were hungry, in need of some internet service and ready for a couple pints, this place may be just what the good Doctor ordered. Limited menu, so we just stuck to good ol' burgers and chips and man! did the burgers exceed my expectations. They were decent sized, fresh, well appointed and very tasty. As they were pretty lean tasting, I'd say there's a good chance they were made from Highland beef. We got free WiFi to catch up on some correspondence and business issues and very cold draft beer. Nothing fancy, but friendly. Decent service and damn good burgers. If you want to go join the locals for a pint and some sports talk, try the Winking Owl. If you want more, go get it and come back by the Owl for lunch and a pint the next day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So Downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were in Aviemore at the weekend and as usual were looking forward to eating in the Winkie
We knew straight away when we walked in that things had changed. There was a large crowd of football fans on one side of the long entrance way and all the tables on the side on the tv screen had been pushed in against the chairs to discourage anyone from sitting down. Not very welcoming. It only got worse at the bar with staff that didnt know or care what drinks were on offer and when we asked about food were told that there was a menu somewhere over there and to find a table. We opted to have our drinks outside and to go to Roo's Leap where we were welcomed by a previous member of the winkie staff. He was profesional and efficient and the food was fantastic. .It pains me to say this, but I wont be recommending this establishment to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Abysmal for Families”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Our family have ventured around the world and experienced establishments in the most economically challenged of nations. The common theme throughout has been the willingness to please the customer with the best ingredients that money can stretch to and a service that is humble and attentive. And so step forward the car crash of hospitality - The Winking Owl- the only establishment in Aviemore to have a table available on an evening without booking. The car park was empty (no wonder), so we gladly parked and walked up the health and safety ridden stairs to main entrance. There was one table left that could accommodate a family of our size, so we made our way over to it. We were firmly blocked by a burly couple, who told us that it was reserved and that we should find an alternative. Deciding instead to hunch round a low, beer- stained table, we read the well-thumbed photocopied menu to choose 3 adult and 3 kids meals. Nothing complicated here, just simple pub grub - fish and chips, burger and gammon. GREAT!!!! Or not so great as it turned out. We were told that "someone would be along shortly to take our order". It never happened. I had to walk to the bar to physically beg the barmaid to ask someone to order our food. Having then returned to our sets, we then waited...and waited...and waited. After 50 minutes, nobody had even apologised for our wait. Returning to the bar, we complained about the length of time that it had taken. After asking which order was ours on the computer, we were told that it would be a matter of minutes. 10 minutes later and the food arrived. Verdict - terrible. The gammon was over-cooked, the fish was all batter and little fish, the burger tasted as cheap as one from a stand at a car boot sale. By this time, the kids were crying to go home, but we made the trip down the threadbare stairs to the toilets before continuing our journey. In short, they stank and had no toilet rolls! We went up to pay, and had to wait another 15 minutes, even though there was only 2 girls queuing before us. When we eventually asked for the bill, we were told that nobody in the staff recognised us and we had to wait to find the person who actually took our our order could be found. Given that only 6 tables were actually dining, this is ludicrous.
Awful, awful, awful. Oh,and by the way - going back to the burly couple who told us that the table was reserved: nobody sat there during our entire misfortune of visiting this hovel of an establishment. Never go there!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winking Owl also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Winking Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winking Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.