We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Winking Owl

The Winking Owl
123 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RH, Scotland
+44 1479 812368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Food Service: Until 9:30 PM Under new ownership and has just re-opened after a complete refurbishment.
Scone
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We went on a golf outing to Spey Valley golf course and when we saw soup priced at £6 reverted to plan B. lunch at Winking Owl good food, good price and good staff. Had a great day for our golf and returned for drinks and a snack at the Winking Owl before heading home. Well done Winking Owl and staff you did us proud

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWinkingOwl, Manager at The Winking Owl, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. Please come and see us again on one of your golfing trip.

Thank you,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    74
    35
    15
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food and dog friendly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Place recommended by a friend. Our food was very goodI enjoyed my scallop starter but found sause over sweet. My wife really enjoyed the pate.
My wife couldn't fault her steak pie and my burger was hearty homemade and juicy which is sometimes lost in burgers but not here.
We both had soft drinks and they were very reasonably priced.
Now for the negative bit. Though tastey, my burger dish inc chips were not as warm as I would of liked. I mentioned this at till and was told that the kitchen was cold, really a restaurant kitchen cold? Something wrong there or an excuse.
The downstairs area where toilets are was freezing. There is a big hole in wall beside toilet and one awfull draft at your legs, please fix said hole.
Back to food, chips on menu a fare bit but they not the best, taste like best buy at cash n carry. I believe a different chip for a different dish not one chip fits all.
We will be back to see improvements and with our dogs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWinkingOwl, Manager at The Winking Owl, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your in depth review.

We have since fixed the hole in the gents. Please forgive the cold building. It is an extremely old building and there are certain areas that just will not heat up. The toilets and the kitchen are included in this but that's no excuse for chilly food!

Please contact the pub if you would like to discuss this further.

Thank you,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Patchy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

hen we arrived it was very full inside it was drizzling out so we didn't want to take one of the outdoor seats. We waited outside whilst the baby played in the kiddies play area. The young female waitress was very accomodating reserving us an area when one became free, then coming outside to get us then consequently moving us to another seating area when a larger space became free. She also stored our buggy for us and gave us a key for baby changing area without having to be even asked. The food when it arrived however was only average, we waited for about 40 minutes having only ordered main courses. People who had come in after us had been served and finished their food before ours had even arrived. It also didn't arrive altogether which was a shame after the wait, two of us had to wait even longer without any explanation of reason. Dissapointing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWinkingOwl, Manager at The Winking Owl, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello,

I am glad that certain aspects of your visit were enjoyable and also extremely upset that it was let down by the long wait.

The staff have now been trained more strictly to inform people of long waiting times and to speak to customers about the reasoning behind them.

We hope to see you again one day!

Thank you,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a recommendation we are glad we took on board. The staff where warm and friendly , the atmosphere is great and always has something on . We enjoyed the table at the window with views of the cairngorm mountains. The choice of food caters for all tastes and excellent value for money. We enjoyed it so much we visited several times during our stay.on one occasion one of our group took unwell and the staff where a great help and boxed there food up to take away with them so helpful will definitely be back .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWinkingOwl, Manager at The Winking Owl, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your review.

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After waiting half an hour after being shown where to sit we left. Food was left out on tables - at least three. Staff could not be distinguished through lack of uniforms, all very unprofessional and unacceptable, ended up going o excellent cafe across the road.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWinkingOwl, Manager at The Winking Owl, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello,

I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience here. At the time you came we were extremely short staffed and that bad patch is still affecting us today as it has hurt our reputation.

We have now got a full staff team and hope that you will come back and try us again one day so that you can reconsider.

All I can do right now is apologise.

Thank you,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winking Owl also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Winking Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winking Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.