We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Highlands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Highlands Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Aviemore
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed in the 4* wing of this hotel. The Staff were a little of putting and not always the happy helpful that you would expect, although no problems just didn't seem happy. The room had a massive bed and the bathroom luxurious and obvioulsy not too old. The TV didn't work too well althought that never bothered us as we didn't stay in too long. The corridors and stairs could do with a little TLC although why this would really bother anyone I don't know. The facilities were excellant with the pool being quiet and lovely (indoor) terrace attached. The steam room, jacuzzi and sauna were an excellant addition especially when you come in from the cold outdoors of Scotland. Breakfast was very well presented and good quality with staff on hand for extra coffee etc (even if it did take 15mins to arrive!). Great base for exploring th highlands and nice hotel with good facilities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    153
    102
    60
    27
See reviews for
127
198
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We booked this offer through our local paper in Falkirk which described it as DBB for £70, so for 2 nights £140.
Checked in, on our arrival were told we had been upgraded to 4* from 3*. We reckon this was due to the 3* Academy wing effectively being closed due to low numbers, so no one was staying there anyway. Also told that our dinner allowance was £37, not quite what it said in the advert. Anyway, found our room, nice enough but sign on door said ' no smoking...'. It stank of smoke. Room fine apart from that, nice bathroom but why only one chair + stool for a double room?
There was a choice of 2 restaurants open, either the posh Aspects in the same building as our room, or Giovanni's a short walk away. We opted for the Italian option. Pretty much all foreign staff, which may explain why bolognese was brought instead of carbonara. otherwise, lovely food.
The other quibble we had was the sports facilities: after a long walk in the snow, we were looking forward to using jacuzzi, only to be told it had been shut early due to PH problem. Amazingly it was open first thing on the Sunday morning, maybe more of a convenience for staff rather than customers?

These were out quibbles, apart from that the hotel is nice ( we wouldn't pay full rates mind you), food was generally excellent.

For Saturday late lunch we went to Cairngorm hotel at the turn in to the McDonald resort- great food, big hearty portions and a good vibe in this place. They do rooms too.

Best feature of hotel: breakfasts
Worst: smell of smoke in our room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This was my second stay at the Highland hotel and again it was great. I got one night bed and breakfast for £54. In my opinion the hotel is perfect. The rooms are big enough, everything is clean and the bathroom is also nice. You also get Sky Sports 1 and 2 in your room. The location of the hotel is perfect. It's close to all the attractions and the main street. The breakfast was also great, with a massive selection which includes a full Scottish breakfast, porridge, fresh fruit, rolls, and toast, basically anything you want. The staff are all very nice and friendly.

Tip - If you are looking for somewhere good to eat try the Cairngorm Hotel which is on the main street, you can't miss it. The food is amazing and is very reasonable in price, the menu is also huge.

This is a great hotel which shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

If you fancy a reasonably priced 'room' and no information from staff about events and facilities then go to Aviemore Resort!!! This hotel is well over priced, food average nothing special at all, in the Academy Hotel where we were staying you had to walk to another hotel to get your breakfast which wasn't the best. On Hogmannay we had no information about what bars in the hotels etc were open they were just expecting everyone to go to the 'extravaganza' party which would have cost us £160 (2 adults and 2 children). Would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless they are millionaires!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

MacDonalds Highland Complex has several hotels, of which the Highlands Hotel is the only 4 star one. I believe it was refurbished not that long ago, so the rooms are newish, furnishings clean, and the bathroom pleasant. The king size bed is truly king size and very comfortable. View out is nothing great, as we had a rear facing room. Swimming and leisure facilities not great - there is a long walk to it, in the freezing cold outside. It's also very busy, even at this time of year when the hotels are quite empty. It caters for all of the complex, so imagine how busy it gets during peak season! Breakfast is good, with a decent selection of hot food. Staff friendly. Rather over-priced.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gooseberry2009
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We dined at Aspects restaurant when in Aviemore and the food was great. Very nicely cooked with a fine dining feel and finish. The waiters were mostly foreign but polite and efficient and recommended excellent wines. It was a little pricey for the quality but not a rip off.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tayside
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed in the Highland Hotel for 3 nights. Check in was a bit of a disaster as you have to check in at the main resort reception which is in another hotel. There was no member of staff in the highland hotel to show us how to get to our room.
The room was clean enough, although just a bit 'tired' looking and in need of a redo. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in.
The resort itself was fine, our teenagers enjoyed the pool etc. The breakfast was also quite nice. The bar area was modern looking.
Overall it was okay, however don't think we will go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travelers. For relaxation there's direct access to the Leisure Arena, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whiskey bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Hotel Macdonald Highlands
Macdonald Highlands Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Highlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.