We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windows on ground floor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Highlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Highlands Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Windows on ground floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a great stay. The only downfall was the fact that there were no nets or blinds on the bedroom windows. We had a ground floor room which looked directly on to facing parked cars which meant the curtains had to be drawn to have some privacy from other clients of the hotel going back and forwards to their cars.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on an upper floor if you want some natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review - I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the resort. I am sorry to hear that you were not perfectly happy with the location of your room, I do wish you would have brought it up with us during your stay in order to possibly find you another room that you would find more accommodating.

We hope you welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    133
    95
    56
    25
See reviews for
114
175
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Been here a few times with my wife & young kids and it is an ideal family break during the school holidays.

Staying in the Highland Hotel this time (courtesy of an upgrade) on a 3 night break, it was adequate for our needs, offering breakfast in Aspects restaurant each morning which was plentiful and well serviced.

The food overall is good with a choice of 4 restaurants to choose from, one of which is located a short drive from the main complex which we have still to sample.
We ate in Giovanni's Italian on our 1st night the food being good, but the service painfully slow.
Next night we chose the carvery in the main hotel area which was a bit slap dash, and lacking a pleasurable dining experience.
Aspects was our final choice on the DB&B package which always comes up trumps, even if a slice of hand cut bread with butter or balsamic vinegar & olive oil, comes in at a hefty £1.75 per slice.

During one of the days I wanted to order a sandwich or light snack but to my surprise their is no light bite menu available outwith regular meal times. Surprising for a hotel offering so much, to miss a trick like that.

The facilities here are excellent, they cater for youngsters brilliantly with plenty on offer, with afternoon activities, and entertainment provided in the evening. The leisure club is excellent, including a well laid out gym and large pool area incorporating sauna's.

I would ceratinly recommend The McDonald Hotel in Aviemore as an ideal family short break destination, even if some of their pricing is a bit out of kilter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of your resort experience. I am happy to read your review and learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the resort accommodating for yourself and your family.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the food in Aspects restaurant - your kind comments have been passed on. Please also note that you feedback regarding both the service in Giovannis and atmosphere in the Carvery has been passed on to the relevant departments. We do offer room service menu in the Highlands hotel that has sandwiches that are available 24 hours for our guests if they want anything light during the day.
It is great that you had the time to really enjoy the resort and use the leisure facilities and entertainment offered on site and enjoyed both.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in July, we had a large room and bathroom, no complaints very comfy bed. corridors of hotel could do with an update but this is the only complaint. Breakfast was excellent, very good selection and waiting staff on the ball. We were on a DBB basis and food was excellent, dined in the Italian restaurant twice also Aspects restaurant is worth visiting, very good service and again food excellent . The steak club at Spey Valley golf club is very good with free transport. .
Pool area very good with wave pool & flume, daughter loved them both, areas very clean.
Again Macdonald Hotels is a winner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to share your resort experience with us.
I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us and that the resort was accommodating for your and your family. Thank you for your kind words regarding the dining offered on site - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed it as much as you did.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have just returned from a two day break at this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. My room was lovely, with a nice view of the distant mountains (when I could see them through the mist!) and overlooking a garden area. Excellent supply of toiletries, tea and coffee etc. The Aspects restaurant could not be faulted, the dinner on both nights was superb. I will definitely be staying there again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your review and learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, I know they will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and you found them helpful throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back again, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here early september with my wife suprising friends we met on holiday earlier in the year checkin smooth with no problems, all staff we dealt with very manerable and easy to converse with,breakfast a massive plus. Main drawback for me about this hotel was the exspense for the room i have paid a lot less for far more luxuorious accomadation.All in all i would return to this hotel again if i found a price that suited me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear that the staff made you feel welcome during your stay and that you found the breakfast of excellent value.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and spacious, though it did look over car park. Lovely toiletries and bottled water daily. Wifi available everywhere via cloud. My only negative about the room was it was so poorly lit. My husband had lost his luggage at airport and staff couldn't have been more helpful. The Restaurant in the hotel was a bit of a nightmare in the evening- there were 2 large groups and they just couldn't cope. The included evening meal was a little limited, and repetitive. But the Italian on site was excellent and this was included for evening meal too. Breakfast was fabulous.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the time taken to write a review – as we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and found it accommodating for your stay. Thank you for your kinds words regarding our staff – I am delighted to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.
It is unfortunate that you didn’t get the chance to mention the bad lighting in the room to us directly in order for us to possibly get you additional lighting in the room.
Please note that your comments regarding restaurant service has been taken on board and passed on to the relevant departments.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just spent two nights with my wife and son at this great hotel, we were so sad to leave. Fantastic pool and kids area. Hotel room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. I think our room had just been refurbished. What really made the stay special was the staff, checking in was seamless with a warm welcome, housekeeping staff were lovely, the management team are doing a great job. We stayed on dinner bed and breakfast, we have done it before in other hotels and hated it but here was so different u choose from 2 restaurants we ate twice in the Italian restaurant due to a great experience on the first night, great variety and staff. Thank you so much, i an just booking for our 10th anniversary in February.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and sharing your resort experience. I am so pleased to hear that you and your family had an outstanding stay with us.
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I know they will be delighted to hear that they made you feel welcome.

We cannot wait to welcome you back in February.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travelers. For relaxation there's direct access to the Leisure Arena, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whiskey bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Hotel Macdonald Highlands
Macdonald Highlands Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Highlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.