We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Aviemore and the Cairngorms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Highlands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Highlands Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
hinckley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location for Aviemore and the Cairngorms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Nice pool and leisure complex. Good breakfast. Good all round 4* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear Brownrj25
Thank you for the positive comments you have made about the hotel & leisure facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Macdonald Aviemore Resort in the near future.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    134
    95
    57
    25
See reviews for
115
175
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We attended the Mac Donald Highlands Hotel as part of a large ball which they hosted this may.

The 'resort' itself has been graced with the aesthetics for which inspiration must have been drawn from a concrete scheme in Glasgow's east end. Who gave planning permission for a combination of grey concrete blocks to be sneezed onto the beauty of the highlands is beyond me, not only does it not do it's environment justice but feels generally sterile and unwelcoming, losing all the rustic charm you would expect in a place where limestone and wood are plentiful.

Rooms at the Highlands resort undeserving of a four star rating are relatively small and dated, lacking bathrobes, mini-bar, free internet or safe. The heating is provided by 30 year old electric heaters (unassisted) which fill the room with the smell of singed dust, the television is old but had a decent range of channels. On a positive note the bed was very comfortable, and the shower pretty awesome.

The hotel staff were all quite original and friendly, except for one sneaky sub manager who at breakfast told us to follow him to the downstairs dining area as the upstairs had become full, this was done with the pretence that everything available would be the same as it was in the main breakfast set-up. However I later found this to be a blatant lie and the staff hadn't bothered to bring down a number of items downstairs. The breakfast was pretty good if you were to be seated in the main area and had a decent choice.

The bars at the hotel are ridiculously overpriced, which is interesting considering at this cost you would expect the staff to know their way around a bar which was not the case.

The spa facilities and service was disappointing, and while the swimming pool is good if you are swimming for endurance or to stay in shape, it wouldn't be as suitable for relaxing or if you are travelling with children is not very family friendly.

A fire alarm went off at 2am, and took half an hour for the hotel staff to figure out what was wrong and turn it off, in this time they weren't particularly helpful or open as to what was going on.

This place generally would be fitting for a conference or trade fair, but gives an unpleasant and cold feeling. If you plan to visit the highlands for a relaxing getaway I would recommend somewhere else where your money wouldn't be wasted.

Room Tip: Stay in the building which houses the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear Notsolol

Thank you for your comments. We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and we would always welcome comments from guests who do not feel we have succeeded in this.
If you would like to contact me at the resort directly I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and to resolve any outstanding issue for you.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011 via mobile

Just back from a 2 day stay at this hotel. Staff were great. Food in aspects restaurant was superb. Also breakfast was of a great standard. Gym not great( as a leisure centre manager) good equipment in need of service, pool basic but clean. Golf course superb and massage staff were also brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear Golfcol
Thank you for your feedback – it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the resort and staff. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Macdonald Aviemore Resort in the future.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Another lovely weekend break at the Macdonald Highland. Nice hotel, nice food , nice staff! We will be back !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear tiggScotland
Thank you for the positive comments that you have given the hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from a regular visitor that they have once again enjoyed their stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Room was fine, nothing special and the bathroom needed some freshening up. The location was okay....a pleasant walk to the centre of Aviemore....just felt the Highlands resort had little in the way of atmosphere. Breakfast was actually tasty and the selection was pretty good....unfortuantely things went downhill when my husband had to wait 25 minutes to check out. This was very poor considering it was the start of the kids' Easter hols and the hotel must have known they were going to be busy!

I shan't return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear LouiseSAbuDhabi
Thank you for your feedback. We receive lots of positive feedback about our breakfast service and have won awards as a company for the high standards we offer.
Please be reassured that we have taken on board your feedback about check out and hope to welcome you back soon.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed here in March for a short snowboarding break and loved it! It was a great place to be based with great facilities, including swimming pool, sauna etc which you could access without having to go outside. These facilities came in very handy after a day on the slopes. Room was a good size and clean and modern. We didn't eat in the hotel (except breakfast which was amazing) as there are so many great places to eat in Aviemore.. I'd recommend the Old Bridge Inn, Cairngorm Hotel and International Starters. The Mountain cafe at the ski resort also served great food - just what was needed for a day on the slopes. Hotel looks ideal for families too with an outdoor kid's play area and cinema to help keep them entertained. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear DJWH
Thank you for the positive comments about our hotel and the onsite facilities. It is always good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Highlands hotel.
The leisure facilities have proved very popular with many of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Aviemore Resort in the near future and hope that the next time you do visit you will join us in one of our many restaurants, so you get the opportunity to try them too.

Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We spent the Easter weekend at the resort and it was fantastic. The kids entertainment was great- Captain Ice and his team were hilarious. We spoke with a lot of the hotel staff and found them to be helpful and very pleasant. The breakfasts were great and nothing was too much bother - Gabriela was an extremely pleasant girl!
One thing I would say- the hotel could do with some lighter options for lunch i.e. soup and a sandwich (although the chef did make us a sandwich when we asked). In fact after we ordered our sandwich several others followed suit. Oh and finally, why charge for internet access - it's 2011

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Mcnails
Thank you for your feedback – it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the resort and the staff and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments concerning lighter lunch options have been passed to our chef and this be implemented, as it is a totally valid point and something families will want. Thank you for pointing this out.

Our company offers competitive Wifi pricing across the resort however your comments about this being free have been noted and will be added to our customer comments file for suggested improvements.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travelers. For relaxation there's direct access to the Leisure Arena, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whiskey bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Hotel Macdonald Highlands
Macdonald Highlands Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Highlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.