We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Old Bridge Inn
Dalfaber Road, Aviemore PH22 1PU, Scotland
+44 (0)1479 811137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 51 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Old Bridge Inn, Aviemore, offers a roaring log fire and cheerful atmosphere along with excellent food and a fine selection of cask ales and malt whiskies. It has always been a favourite haunt for those who enjoy the outdoors, while friendly staff and locals always make you welcome.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a really lovely birthday meal at this restaurant. We've been to Aviemore many times and the food here is definitely a cut above the rest in the town and the place to go for a something a bit more special than the usual fair. It is more pricey but that's reflected in the quality of the food. We came in towards the end of the evening and had two beautiful fish dishes and the starters and desserts were very tasty. The service was spot on for us and added to the friendly atmosphere which was quiet and relaxed.

We'll definitely be back here for a meal but as something special during our future holidays as this is at the top end of our price range.

Another plus point was that it was really good to be able to stay and have a few ales in the bar afterwards with the open fire.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    181
    51
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bridge Inn Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fillet steaks were big and bursting with flavour! Accompanied with a terrine of dauphinoise potato and rich black pudding. Sounds good? Tastes even better. OK it was expensive for a family of five: Two adults, one in-betweenie and two just under teens all paying full whack. But you know what? It was worth it. Puddings were luxurious too, but it was the steaks that blew our socks off. If you're in Aviemore for a stay, here and the Mountain Cafe were our favourite places to eat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good little find tucked away by the river.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent service, barman showed great knowledge of the beers on offer. We only popped in for a lunchtime sandwich but what sandwiches they were. We will definitely be going back for an evening meal, especially as we now know the place is dog friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottishPlaces
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in aviemore for three nights and eat here twice. It's expensive, service could be more attentive, but food is out of this world!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent with dietary requirements”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

In our group of ten there were several complex dietary requirements (gluten free only, no diary etc) and the Old Bridge Inn were fantastic.
The staff were really helpful and agreed to change certain dishes to meet our requirements.
Overall the quality of the food was great, would defintely recommend booking early on holidays and weekends to guarantee a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bridge Inn also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.