We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing attitude to customers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Old Bridge Inn
Dalfaber Road, Aviemore PH22 1PU, Scotland
+44 (0)1479 811137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 44 restaurants in Aviemore
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Old Bridge Inn, Aviemore, offers a roaring log fire and cheerful atmosphere along with excellent food and a fine selection of cask ales and malt whiskies. It has always been a favourite haunt for those who enjoy the outdoors, while friendly staff and locals always make you welcome.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing attitude to customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were hungry after a days walking and the inn looked cosy and welcoming when we got there in the early Sunday evening - not too busy either with quite a few empty tables and also an interesting menu.

Asked if we could order food and the pleasant barman was happy to help and said he'd need to get us a table first. He asked a colleague if we could have a table for two and she replied "neh" not even looking up. He said, what, not even just to fit two in? She replied maybe later (but no indication of how much later) so we left, totally bemused as there seemed to be empty tables.

fortunately Aviemore has other places to eat.

Ps accidentally ticked the rate food option below and don't know how to untick it as we didn't have any, so have set it to average.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbridgeinn, General Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi Fifporter,

Thanks for posting and sincere apologies for your experience.

When speaking to our staff member about this - in fact it was her who brought it to my attention - she was absolutely mortified and extremely apologetic.

When asked by our barman if we had a table for two, she had no idea you were actually at the bar enquiring and had assumed it was either a telephone enquiry, or someone elsewhere that our barman was due to report back to on our availability.

Her response to him, in the way that colleagues are used to responding to each other, in short hand, if you like, would never have been her response to you directly. I really cannot stress enough how embarrassed she was to read your comments.

On the night in question we were fully booked and although it seemed quiet, this was just as service was about to begin and what you might call the calm before the storm. Our staff member was very focused on ensuring our table plan was as it should be, all bookings were organised properly and that service was all ready to kick off as it should be. Being so focused on this task, she simply did not realise you were at hand to overhear her response, as I said, an abbreviated response intended for a colleague.

This particular staff member is someone whose customer service is generally impeccable, but I sincerely hope our barman reiterated our availability in more appropriate terms to you.

Please accept our sincere apologies about this. This was truly an honest mistake and nothing like what we would deem an acceptable attitude towards customers. I hope you will give us an opportunity to set this straight sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Owen
Co-owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    340
    133
    35
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“The best meal ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Had the most amazing meal here! Think it could have been the best meal i have ever had! The place has loads of character and always busy. Its advisable to book a table to avoid disapointment. I would say a visit here is a must if you are in the area

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“really good cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a very laid back, comfortable place. It is full of people who have been out doing something out-doorsy and healthy. The bar is lived in and comfortable and it is easy then not to have huge expectations of the food. The menu is unfussy. We had been driving rather than walking and therefore the appetites were not so big. Sadly, I cannot tell you about the terrine that I secretly longed for but can tell you that the duck breast was perfect, cooked to a blush of rose with crisp skin. It was sitting on a bed of cep risotto with beetroot on the side. Perfect. My son had blackface lamb with gratin and garlicky spinach... drool. Did I mention Perfect? Crema Catalana pudding was unctuous and tart at the same time. Staff were great too, attentive not intrusive, informative not know it all. A great place to eat. Needs new board games tho'... and a coat of paint might be good but the cooking is brilliant, really brilliant. Thanks!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good pub with good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a cosy pub with friendly service and very good food. The fish I had was well cooked, no need for a knife. Staff were helpful in getting taxis late at night. This place is definitely a must when visiting Aviemore.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice food and good service. The food was prepared very fast and was well made.. :) The service was very friendly and gave great advise on local attractions, and made a great GnT!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bridge Inn also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.