We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pine martens :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speyside Wildlife

Speyside Wildlife
Wester Camerorie, Ballieward, Aviemore PH26 3PR, Scotland
+44 1479 812498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Aviemore
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Speyside Wildlife, the Scottish tour operator, offers wildlife watching experiences to suit everyone. We run fully inclusive, fully guided, bird, whale and mammal watching holidays, in Scotland and around the world, for enthusiasts of every ability, plus tailor-made wildlife watching tours of any length to suit your requirements. Visit our evening mammal watching hides in the Cairngorms National Park for close up and personal views of Pine Marten, Badgers and more!
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“pine martens :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

excellent guide, though beware the instructions to get to the site... don't follow your satnav! Brilliant sightings of pine martens and badgers. Well worth it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello Mike - thank you for reviewing your visit to our hide; we really appreciate it. We're delighted that you enjoyed seeing the Pine Martens - that's a great photo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    10
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pine martens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a lovely dusk watch last week and were lucky enough to see 3 different pine martens as well as badgers. The highlight was a female running up to the table,carefully collecting an egg and running away again. The other pine martens concentrated on the peanuts and raisins.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We're delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to our hide and thank you very much for posting your review - we really appreciate it!

If you took any photos, we'd love to see them; if you're happy to share them, please either post them to our Facebook page or email them to us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb choice for a wildlife holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I cannot recommend this company highly enough. Not only did they help me to join a trip that had already started, but the attention to detail was astounding. Dietary requirements sorted, comfy bedrooms, delicious food that was beautifully presented, an extremely informative guide who even gave me some extra photography tips... and a jam packed itinerary. The atmosphere at The Steading is very homely and evening meals with the group were a pleasure after a long day searching for wildlife. I managed to see two golden eagles, roe deer, red deer, otters and dolphins - and a stunning tawny owl. I will definitely return.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Katie

We're so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the holiday; thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review - we really appreciate it.

Have you seen Craig and Chrissie's photos on Facebook? We'd love to see any photos you took, if you're happy to share them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Makes you appreciate wildlife cameramen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent a fascinating few hours here one evening while on holiday in the area. We saw lots of wood mice, running up, grabbing a peanut and then running away with it, roe and red deer, a tawny owl, and finally, just when we were beginning to get despondent, a female pine marten. Sadly she didn't stay long, but it didn't matter - just seeing one "live" was fantastic. John, our guide, was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. If you go on a warm day like we did, I would recommend taking a drink as the hide gets very warm. Also, in the summer it ends up being a late night because obviously it doesn't get dark very early! Expect to be in the hide until nearly midnight.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We're delighted that a Pine Marten showed up for you - albeit fleetingly! - and thank you so much for reviewing your evening. We really appreciate it and have passed your comments on to John.

We have often let the hide to professional photographers and they are in there for eight hours or more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Well worth a trip!! We had a brilliant night, our guide was fantastic. The hide was a lovely warm area and we were quickly rewarded with wood mice then deer. A wee wait followed by a badger, then male pine martin, another badger and then female pine martin. The evening passed very quickly and John was a very good guide, answering all our questions and telling us all about the area and the wildlife.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello Kirsty

We're delighted that you had such a successful evening in the hide and thank you very much for posting this review - we really appreciate it. We have passed your comments onto John - he says thank you, he enjoyed the evening as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speyside Wildlife also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Speyside Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speyside Wildlife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.