We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wildlife Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speyside Wildlife

Speyside Wildlife
Wester Camerorie, Ballieward, Aviemore PH26 3PR, Scotland
+44 1479 812498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 31 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Speyside Wildlife, the Scottish tour operator, offers wildlife watching experiences to suit everyone. We run fully inclusive, fully guided, bird, whale and mammal watching holidays, in Scotland and around the world, for enthusiasts of every ability, plus tailor-made wildlife watching tours of any length to suit your requirements. Visit our evening mammal watching hides in the Cairngorms National Park for close up and personal views of Pine Marten, Badgers and more!
Helensburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Wildlife Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We thought the visit was fantastic, great guide who was very knowledgable and she made the experience better by providing information and background which made it all the more informative and memorable. We saw 2 Badgers and a Pine Marten from a very warm cosy hide, which had an excellent viewing! Many thanks! Well recommended for anyone who enjoys wildlife and it is worth the wait! As always nature is very rarely predictable!


The only glitch was the online website - which would not let us book for the Saturday eve (Sat 3rd May) it was only the Wildlife guide at our hotel who provided us with the Tel No to ring the Rothiemurchus office which allowed us to book at all on the Sat. The day in question was greyed out on the website so effectively we could not book online. This was the only thing which stopped us giving it 5 stars!
The visit would have cost us £5 less had we been able to book online - but we did not get the choice.

Could be expensive if there are a lot of people going but worth it in my mind for the experience!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your visit to our hide and we're delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and that the Badgers and Pine Marten came out for you!

We do take bookings on the website for Saturday visits, but only if they are made in advance as our office is closed at the weekends. We have made the arrangement with Rothiemurchus to take weekend bookings to allow for last minute decisions to visit the hide.

If you took any photos during the evening and are happy to share them, we'd love to see them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    12
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Have just come back from the 24/7 Wildlife holiday (24 main species of birds and 7 main mammal species). The holiday isn't cheap but EXCELLENT value for money and most of all highly enjoyable.
The steading in right bang in the middle of glorious habitat, the food wonderful (I'm a veggie and was very well fed) the guides were second to none, patient and highly knowedgable and funny, and I saw so much and learnt loads.
I was on my own but the group were soon chatting and were all friendly
It is fully inclusive, in theory you could turn up with no money in your pocket
As a 'starting point' wildlife holiday you wont do better than this

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hello Marion

We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday with us and thank you so much for your lovely review! Have a great summer's wildlife watching and we hope to see you again one day.

Best wishes
The Speyside Wildlife team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They Forgot About Us!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our three day visit to Kingussie was planned around a full day exploring the wildlife in the hopefully knowledgable hands of one of Speyside Wildlife's expert guides. The company pride themselves on a 5 star rating and were helpful in the planning of our day. We agreed the day a couple of weeks in advance. There is a comment in the documentation pre-event that the guide will phone a few days in advance to confirm arrangements. This didn't happen, and we assumed this was because the day was planned just a couple of weeks before, therefore no end for the confirmation call. Everything in place, we eagerly looked forward to our adventure. Early breakfast, excited chatter over what the day might bring - even the weather was on our side. Booted and spurred we were ready for pick up at the agreed location. We waited. And waited. It's not long before you know something's not quite right here. Twenty minutes in we phoned. The response was "Oh dear, I'll get in touch with the guide and phone you back in two minutes". We waited. Ten minutes later we phoned again. We were told that a colleague was on the phone to a guide and will call us back. Anyhow, there was clearly some form of communication breakdown, and we were still standing around an hour and a half later. Our suggestion that there be some form of recompense was refused as the time would be "made up." The choice was start late or rearrange for the next day. As the short break was designed for this day, a rearrangement wasn't an option.

To the event itself. After a somewhat, strained start, we thoroughly enjoyed our day. Our guide was genuinely very knowledgable about the area and the local wildlife. As an amateur wildlife photographer, my wife was keen to get as many shots as possible. Not always possible of course, but we did see and learn about a wide variety, including Scottish crossbill, golden eagle, Slovonian grebe, mountain hare and red-throated diver among many other more common species. One annoyance with the vehicle, the rear door window was seized and unable to open. Not best set up for taking photographs.

To sum up. When there is a bit of a major cock-up it could spoil the whole day. However, our guide was very good and we came away having learned a great deal, which was the purpose of the event. However, such poor organisation cannot be overlooked without critical comment. We paid top dollar and didn't expect the fundamentals to be lacking. This, and the fact that the quality of photography was compromised because of the faulty window left us scoring three stars on what could have been a five star experience. One piece of advice. No matter how close to the event your day may be planned. Make no assumptions. If you don't get the pre-event phone call, get on to their office and do the confirming for yourself.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear James

Thank you for reviewing your day out and we're very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves, despite the shaky start. We apologise again for the breakdown of the arrangements and for keeping you waiting - this fell far short of the very high standards we set ourselves. We always endeavour to give our guests a complete experience and we were glad we were able to give you a full day's guiding by continuing into the early evening. However, we recognise that the organisation of the day fell short of your expectations, so we should like to offer you an evening in our Mammal Watching Hide as our guests when you are next visiting the area; please give us a call when you're planning your next trip here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Badgers galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked a mammal watching evening with speyside.I was not very hopeful of seeing the pinemartin given how elusive they are proported to be.The hide was very comfortable and John our guide was excellent.We saw several red deers including stags.But the highlight was seeing 4 badgers and a pine martin .There is good lighting and the animals come very close to the hide giving excellent opportunity to take photos.Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to our hide and thank you very much for posting your review. We have passed on your appreciative comments to John - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good site for photography?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Is this a good site for photography or mainly just for viewing? I am traveling to Scotland for a few days (from Canada) in Feb and would like to do some wildlife photography.
Richard

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello - thank you for your enquiry. Lots of people have taken great photos at the hide and some of the pics at the top of this page were taken by visitors - you can see more on our Facebook page. Take a look at the Dusk Watches page on our website for details on how to book an evening at our hide. Hope you have a great visit to Scotland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speyside Wildlife also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Speyside Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speyside Wildlife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.