We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dusk Viewing of Pine Martens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speyside Wildlife

Speyside Wildlife
Wester Camerorie, Ballieward, Aviemore PH26 3PR, Scotland
+44 1479 812498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 31 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Speyside Wildlife, the Scottish tour operator, offers wildlife watching experiences to suit everyone. We run fully inclusive, fully guided, bird, whale and mammal watching holidays, in Scotland and around the world, for enthusiasts of every ability, plus tailor-made wildlife watching tours of any length to suit your requirements. Visit our evening mammal watching hides in the Cairngorms National Park for close up and personal views of Pine Marten, Badgers and more!
Leamington Spa, Warks
1 review
“Dusk Viewing of Pine Martens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We met our guide at the appointed place and parked up. Not far to walk to the hide which was perfectly situated and had large windows front and back enabling everyone to see well. Really appreciated a nice warm hide too on a chilly evening. We were entertained by badgers and red deer during the evening and although "the star of the show" did not put in an appearance we enjoyed our evening and would thoroughly reccommend to anyone. The cost for 3 hours was £18 each which I felt was worth it too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Rebecca
Thank you very much for reviewing your evening and we're glad you enjoyed it! Hope you got some good photos - if you have any that you're happy to share, do post them on our Facebook page!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    12
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No pine martin and not enough chairs, but still a great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening of wildlife watching, despite the fact there had been an error in the booking system and as a result too many people and not enough chairs! It is an odd and quite intense experience to be in a small space with a group of strangers all desperately wishing for pine martin. We saw red deer and several badgers and the guide was very informative. Photographic opportunities were pretty good too.
The closest toilets are the ones at Loch an Eilein, so don't expect to be shown any close to the hide.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello Di

We're glad you enjoyed the evening and are pleased the Badgers came out for you! Apologies for the extra bookings - it's the only occurrence we've ever had of someone booking at the visitor Centre at exactly the same second that the last places were booked online.

Thanks for reviewing - it's always good to have feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Close encounters, and on time too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A short walk to amost luxuriously comfortable hide - heated, with immaculately clean double-glazed windows providing superb viewing.
External lighting meant we could clearly see the viviting pine marten, red deer and badgers just a few feet away. Informative guide. Excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Pam

Glad you had such a successful evening and thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“great facilities but the Pine Marten didn't show up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A dusk watch from a warm comfortable hide started with an introduction from John, the guide, and then Red Deer approached and started grazing the peanuts. As dark fell the Badgers appeared and up to 6 were within 10 feet of us for about 30 minutes. Unfortunately the star of te show declined showing up - but that's wildlife watching. At £30 pp this is really good vfm

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Colin

Delighted that you enjoyed your evening and thank you for reviewing - we really appreciate it! But there's a typo in your review - the cost is £20 per person and £18 if you book online - not £30!

If you took any photos, we'd love to see them if you're happy to share - you can post them on our Facebook page or email them to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“See Pine Martins and Badgers at close quarters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Evening visit to a hide on the Rothiemurcus Estate between Aviemore and Caingorm. In the middle of nowhere but extremely well designed hide capable of housing a dozen or so people.
Deer, Badgers and a Pine Martin came to eat the peanuts scattered outside. Good viewing and photographic opportunities (no need for a long lens). Very capable guide who told us all about the animals.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your visit and we're delighted you enjoyed it so much. If you've taken any photos that you would be happy to share, we'd love to see them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speyside Wildlife also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Speyside Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speyside Wildlife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.