We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close encounters, and on time too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Speyside Wildlife

Speyside Wildlife
Wester Camerorie, Ballieward, Aviemore PH26 3PR, Scotland
+44 1479 812498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Aviemore
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Speyside Wildlife, the Scottish tour operator, offers wildlife watching experiences to suit everyone. We run fully inclusive, fully guided, bird, whale and mammal watching holidays, in Scotland and around the world, for enthusiasts of every ability, plus tailor-made wildlife watching tours of any length to suit your requirements. Visit our evening mammal watching hides in the Cairngorms National Park for close up and personal views of Pine Marten, Badgers and more!
Wooler, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Close encounters, and on time too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A short walk to amost luxuriously comfortable hide - heated, with immaculately clean double-glazed windows providing superb viewing.
External lighting meant we could clearly see the viviting pine marten, red deer and badgers just a few feet away. Informative guide. Excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Pam

Glad you had such a successful evening and thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    10
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great facilities but the Pine Marten didn't show up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A dusk watch from a warm comfortable hide started with an introduction from John, the guide, and then Red Deer approached and started grazing the peanuts. As dark fell the Badgers appeared and up to 6 were within 10 feet of us for about 30 minutes. Unfortunately the star of te show declined showing up - but that's wildlife watching. At £30 pp this is really good vfm

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Colin

Delighted that you enjoyed your evening and thank you for reviewing - we really appreciate it! But there's a typo in your review - the cost is £20 per person and £18 if you book online - not £30!

If you took any photos, we'd love to see them if you're happy to share - you can post them on our Facebook page or email them to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“See Pine Martins and Badgers at close quarters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Evening visit to a hide on the Rothiemurcus Estate between Aviemore and Caingorm. In the middle of nowhere but extremely well designed hide capable of housing a dozen or so people.
Deer, Badgers and a Pine Martin came to eat the peanuts scattered outside. Good viewing and photographic opportunities (no need for a long lens). Very capable guide who told us all about the animals.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your visit and we're delighted you enjoyed it so much. If you've taken any photos that you would be happy to share, we'd love to see them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
1 review
“Great guide, great hide, great wildlife...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Maybe we were just a bit lucky but from the comfort of a nice warm hide and informed by a very knowledgeable guide, John, we got to see a family of Badgers and a Pine Marten. Tremendous. Oh, and a few red deer too. Couldn't have been better

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We're very pleased to hear that you had a good evening at the hide and thank you very much for taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went on the evening visit to the hide hoping to see badgers, pine marten, deer, etc. Fortunate enough to see 3 badgers within about half an hour of arrival, but nothing else appeared. It was a long evening, not great weather wise, hence probably the lack of other animals. We were still glad we went on the trip, but equally glad to get back home and rest our weary heads.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speyside Wildlife also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Speyside Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speyside Wildlife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.