We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Range Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added High Range Hotel to your Saves list
High Range Hotel
Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great Location - Great Rooms - Great Friendly Reception Welcome - What more do you want.
Ok, a Great Italian meal at the famous La Taverna opposite.
Always look forward to returning. A walk into the heart of Aviemore is only 5 minutes away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    56
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
100
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed over one night on our way back from the western isles. This hotel provided excellent value for money. Close to Aviemore and its restaurants and a good centre for touring Speyside. Good parking. Efficient check in. Comfortable, clean and with every necessity provided. No bath but excellent powerful shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We usually stay in the MacDonald Hotel or Cairngorm Hotel when in Aviemore but they were looking for c.£100 a night for a Tuesday in January which was excessive. We therefore chose the High Range and were not disappointed. Spacious modern rooms, well designed bathroom with great shower. Leisurely 10 min walk into town. The only negative was the sound-proofing - the room next to ours had loud music playing early in the morning but this was just one of those things. Would definitely consider staying here again. Don't miss the Old Bridge Inn, a great wee pub just 5 mins from the High Range!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned from staying at this motel. Initially booked for price and only needing a bed for the night in between two days on the slopes.
Great location- just off the A9 and very easy to find.
Check in easy- lady was very helpful and friendly.
Room was very clean and in all round good condition, no scuff marks on walks etc. Hair dryer, flatscreen TV, sofa, wardrobes,dressing table; all the things you need. If I had to pick a negative it would be that the bed was a small double but really didn't matter too much.
Bathroom was extremely clean, looked almost brand new! The shower was just a standard enclosure but oh my word so hot and powerful... I wish I could have that shower at home. Both myself and my boyfriend came or saying it was the best shower!
After a day on the slopes we chose to have a quiet night so ate at the pizzeria on the complex. It was a very traditional style pizzeria with lots of character. Menu was varied but we chose the buffet which was all you can eat. Lots of choices and all were delicious, it's nice to be able to sample several different dishes for the bargain price of £12.95 per head.
Slept well, room was dark and quiet.

Check out is a little on the early side but I guess most people would be either making the most of the slopes or getting their journey underway.
I would definitely stay here again and probably for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and it was just what we were looking for. It's good value for money, modern, clean, close to the town & has everything you need. The kettle was in a bit of an akward position and you can't sit comfortably at the desk as the chair is too tall but these problems didn't really make much of a difference. The parking was brilliant and the staff were great. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here during a recent road trip around Scotland and it did not disappoint. In a nice location with good parking facilities for guests. The man at reception was very informative and helpful. The room was a decent size with a great shower/bathroom facilities. The italian just next to the Motel would be useful for some but we chose not to eat here. The lack of human contact is one downside I suppose but it is a Motel. The checkout at ten seems quite early but we had to move on in the morning anyway did not bother us. On the whole it was great value for money and we would stay here again without a doubt! Aviemore is a lovely place and this complimented that with a nice peaceful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Perfect for Aviemore location and local walks all within close proximity. Spotlessly clean with good facilities. Excellent food at la taverna.

Only slight negative was the noisy neighbour which we had the first night but this didn't detract from our overall hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Range Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.