We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Range Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added High Range Hotel to your Saves list
High Range Hotel
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Couldn't fault this place. Rooms are spacious, well decorated, modern, cosy and clean.

Freeview on the TV is good, complimentary tea, coffee and shortbread, hair-dryer and excellent bathroom facilities.

Only a 10 minute walk into Aviemore.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    62
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
109
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The place is fantastic. Feels like real top end hotel. The rooms are spacious and very well equipped. Bathroom big with facilities for disabled people. We would definitely book it again because it is a great value for money. There is a pizza place just around the corner. Very close to shops in Aviemore.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose the motel on price and location, planning to spend one night there. We were met with an efficient and friendly check in and found the family room to be clean and well presented.

Having tramped up Cairn Gorm we decided to extend our stay and were offered the same rate for the second night, at a discount to the regular weekend rate.

We ate at the Italian buffet the first night, which was reasonable.. 13 pounds or so a head, Decent selection with OK quality..

Based on price, location, convenience.. I'd choose to stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Night no. 5 on the Lands End to John O’Groats road trip and we had ended up in Aviemore. We were on a budget so passed over a couple more salubrious looking and expensive hotels and ended up at the High Range where I think we had the best value stay of our trip.

Reception lady was lovely, polite, friendly and helpful.

The whole place felt well maintained and clean and the room was fantastic. Sometimes one wants character and atmosphere, sometimes one just wishes to have somewhere warm and clean to crash for the night and this stay was the latter. n that respect, the High Range ticked all the boxes. The room itself was big and well appointed. Spotlessly clean and the biggest bed of the trip (I have become a bit bed obsessed). The en-suite too was beautifully clean and the shower the best performing of the trip - I have also become a bit shower obsessed.

The Italian restaurant on the doorstep is reviewed separately but was also great value with good service.

All in all, does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights in the motel section of the resort and have no complaints. Staff were lovely and helpful. Rooms were spotless, spacious and had everything we needed. There was free tea, coffee and shortbread! Shower was fine, hairdryer was good and tv freeview reception was excellent. Room was quiet and the view was okay. There was wifi we could connect to but it was difficult to get a signal. Wifi was not supposed to be included with the room so this didn't matter. A nice touch would be the hotel adding wifi to all the rooms. Hotel is around a 15 minute walk to the train station and town centre. The on site restaurant 'La Taverna' was nice and reseanably priced. Breakfast is not included which is a shame. Would have been good to have a cooked breakfast included. Overall a good stay and would recommend this hotel if you don't mind not getting a cooked breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent acommadation very clean nice furnishings beautifully tiled bathroom and modern shower cubicle and heated towel rale beds very comfortable wall mounted tv and heater in room and lovely view over the Cairngorms from window very peacefull this was a twin bedded room my son and wife had double superior room which was also nice and also had a safe. we will certainly stay here again and also recommend to friends all rooms have kettle tea and coffee and shortbread

Room Tip: All rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night, booked last minute with my husband. As we booked just a couple of days prior to staying, room configurations were few. Either a twin (which we prefer not to have) or superior. We chose superior. Very spacious room, with huge bed, desk, table and chairs and flat screen tv.
never having seen the other rooms, I don't know how superior they are, but it was very clean, and bathroom was great.

We dined in La Taverna, a few steps from the door-and right outside the window. Surprisingly, no noise from there to keep us awake. However, the same cannot be said for the 2 families who were staying in the room opposite and beside us. Children in nappies, screaming up and down the corridor at 10 o clock at night. I eventually had to poke my head out of the door, as the parents seemed to be congregating there too...It did eventually quieten down.
The walls are a little thin as we could still hear them speaking after they had gone in their rooms, and in the morning, we could hear someone snoring!
The bed/mattress was a bit hard, as were the pillows, but that is just personal taste.
The only things that would possibly deter me from returning, is the lack of wifi and breakfast option.
Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Range Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Range Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.