We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Cafe

Mountain Cafe
111 Grampian Rd, Aviemore PH22 1RH, Scotland
+44 1479 812473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Description: We use some of Scotland's best local produce to create healthy, wholesome & interesting food with a Kiwi twist. We opened our doors in 2004 and have been gaining awards and accolades for our antipodean style coffees, delicious breakfasts, superb lunches & fresh home baking ever since. Our service is friendly & casual with a professional team from all over the world. The café offers excellent views of the Cairngorm Mountains - enjoy our balcony area during summer and the cosy log burner to sit by during the winter months. All the pictures are of our food - why not come in and sample our hospitality when you are in the area next?
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great food. Great cakes. Great service. Waited 40mins on the stairs but worth the wait. My wife had sweet potato soup and a savoury scone and I had the very tasty lamb burger. There is also a large choice of cakes/tray bakes/scones and chutneys etc for sale. Never disappointing and a must if visiting Aviemore and surrounding are.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    155
    51
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenlaw, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Mostly you have to queue on the stairs for a table at popular times. It is well worth the wait! The food was gorgeous and the service friendly. THE place to go if in Aviemore especially if you like a well crafted home made burger or their all-day breakfast. Right on the High Street slap bang in the centre of town.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wish we lived closer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We fell upon this cafe by accident. We have visited Aviemore several times and I had often seen this cafe but we had never stopped. My husband wanted to look at the outdoor gear downstairs and I was in need of a coffee. We had to cue at least 20 minutes but it was well worth the wait. When we were taken to our table the staff were really lovely and friendly. We ordered our coffee And I went up to the counter to look at the sumptuous cakes. I was really stuck as all of them looked fab. However I have often been sadly disappointed by cakes that promise but fail to deliver. In this cake not only did they deliver but were beyond my expectations both in portion size but taste. I would rate these cakes as among the best I have ever tasted including my mother's which is praise indeed. It was so good we went back three times during the week and it was always packed no matter what time we went. It is excellent value and the staff really helpful. Just wish it was closer to where I live a 7 hour drive is a bit far for a slice of cake.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Coffee and cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've made this our coffee shop of choice in Aviemore for years. The home baking is what brings us back again and again. Worth droppong in but be prepared to queue at busy times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

another 2 lovely meals at the mountain cafe well worth the wait.
once again the choice and variety exceeds all expectations,
the cakes just get better and better

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Cafe also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 

Been to Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.