We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunroamin

Dunroamin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dunroamin to your Saves list
Dunroamin
Craignagower Ave, Aviemore PH22 1RW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

I have been visiting Dunroamin for years and I have never been disappointed. On a recent trip with my husband the hospitality, cleanliness and quality of food was again exceptional. I do not usually write reviews but feel that some recent reviews do not in any way resemble the wonderful Guest House that I know. Lorraines attention to detail and Jim's warm and friendly approach ensure that any stay leaves you feeling relaxed and wanting to return. Thanks also to Wilma and Raymond (Lorraine's parents) for their kindness and hospitality on our recent visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I don't normally take the time to leave comments like this, but credit where credit is due. We stayed at Dunroamin for a weekend and cannot fault anything. The welcome was second to none - felt like we were staying with friends. Lorraine and Jim were extremely hospitable and their knowledge of the surrounding area was exceptional. The breakfast was fantastic and it certainly "set us up" for the rest of the day. If you are looking for a B & B that is spotlessly clean and very comfortable (I have already mentioned breakfast.....) then this is certainly the B & B for you. Certainly exceeded our expectations! Thanks again, will definately be back. Tony & Louise

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Booked to stay some time ago after reading all the good reports. Some of our party wanted to cancel when the latest poor reports were posted, but we decided to give it the benifit of the doubt and I am so glad we did!

The bedrooms and bathrooms are nicely presented, inviting clean and warm. Breakfast had a buffet of juices cereals fresh fruit and yogurt and they was a menu to chose from with cooked options as well as continental. There was also a Breakfast Special offered of smoked salmon with scrambled egg on a bagel. I did not have it but it looked fab!

The owners were friendly and helpful suggesting The Cairngorm Hotel to eat in which was great.

I think it ahould be noted that this is a 3 star Bed and Breakfast and not a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Have stayed here before and it is still run by Lorraine and her husband to a very high standard. If you don't want to stay in a hotel in Aviemore then this is the place to be.
It helps if you can book ahead as accommodation in Aviemore can, at times, be difficult to find and not all places are as good and value for money as Dunroamin. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, each with en-suite facilities, Tv, hairdryer, radio/alarm, and the essential hospitality tray for a quick cuppa. Car parking is off the road and Aviemore amenties are within easy walking distance. Breakfast is exceptionally good and well cooked by Lorriane and delivered by her husband with a happy smile.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed at Dunroamin in September with my girlfriend. We usually stay in a great B&B on the road to Cairngorm but after reading the amazing reviews of Dunroamin thought we would book it. It was a mistake...

The B&B is okay, there are no major issues but it is a very average and mediocre B&B. The earlier reviews paint a very rosy picture and I felt I should make potential guests aware that it is a run-of-the-mill B&B, certainly not a five star stay.

Room - smallish and average decor, not luxury, basic double bed.
Ensuite - seen bigger and better ones but was clean, poor shower.
Food - basic breakfast, small selection, a bit greasy, dining room not very pleasant.
Service - was okay but manager never went out her way for you/never gave you any time.

IN SUMMARY - THIS IS AN AVERAGE 3 STAR B&B - NO MAJOR PROBLEMS YET NO REAL POSITIVES - SO DON'T BOOK IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GENUINELY NICE PLACE TO STAY.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Beautifully presented and spacious Guest House. Excellent facilities, lovely and welcoming owners, and a cracking breakfast! Ideal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have just returned from our fifth visit to Dunroamin. This is the best B&B in Scotland!
Very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast. Friendly and welcoming hosts. We have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunroamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunroamin

Address: Craignagower Ave, Aviemore PH22 1RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunroamin is a family run quality Bed and Breakfast. Centrally situated, off the main street, in a quiet residential area, it is only five minutes walk to the shops, restaurants and bars. An ideal base for your holiday or business needs, it provides privacy with all the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunroamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunroamin Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunroamin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.