We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy customers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Haggis

Happy Haggis
45 Grampian Rd | Aviemore, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
01479 810430
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 51 Restaurants in Aviemore
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Seaham harbour
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Happy customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

What a lovely find.
Smashing service, cheerful interior.
Most importantly the food was excellent value and very well presented.
Thank you very much

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    20
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stopped here on a Saturday night while out for a drive & were pleasantly surprised on how good the food & service was. Before leaving I asked about a small fish for our dog who had been left in the car & to my surprise I heard the waitress ask the drier if a fish on the range was spare & after being told yes she boxed it & gave it to us for free which really surprised & shocked me in this money making world we live in, will deff be back next time we are in the area

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little chippy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

had a great tea here at the Happy haggis. Been here several times and never had a bad experience. Always seems to be busy yet staff are always helpful and food always great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had travelled up to the highlands from London via Edinburgh and literally found this restaurant by chance.
It's definitely 'Retro Chique' in style as it looked as though it was back in the 1970's but that's all part of the attraction as the youth of today can see how we lived way back then.
However the food was absolutely excellent along with great friendly service.
The young lady who took our order was bubbly and aimed to please.
Having said that,the food spoke volumes as it was a fabulous meal.The batter on the fish was a delight in itself.
Neither of us could fault anything.We had the large fish supper,which really was a good sized large haddock that was big fluffy and very very tasty not forgetting the home made tasting chips.
We just had to write about this hidden gem in Aviemore that took us way by surprise and I'm only sorry that living in London it's a long way to go for fish and chips as we would be regulars.
Well done Happy Haggis.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Another great meal at The Happy Haggis! The owners are always give a lovely welcome. This visit was for Grand Daughters birthday and the owners had decorated the table with balloons and banners which was very thoughtful of them. Great food, fast, but not pushy service, all round, a lovely meal was enjoyed by all. Hope it won't be long before we have an excuse to go back!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Haggis also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Happy Haggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Haggis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.