We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Haggis

Happy Haggis
45 Grampian Rd | Aviemore, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
01479 810430
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 51 Restaurants in Aviemore
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good value order fish tea you get fish supper bread and butter tea or coffee ice cream 7.95 bargain it's like a 60s diner staff very friendly

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    20
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place has a great atmosphere for a chip shop! Whenever we are in the Aviemore area we have to stop off here. On our last visit we sat in for an evening meal. The fish and chips were excellent as usual: fresh, tasty and decently-sized portions. The staff were friendly and helpful. The slightly old-fashioned decor makes for a warm, cosy setting. The only thing you might need to consider is the time you go. We were lucky to get in as we arrived shortly before 8pm, not knowing that they stopped taking orders in the restaurant after this time. Although if you are too late, you can always get the same great food from the takeaway after then.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Chipper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My in-laws recommended that we visited here having recently visited and had a fantastic meal.

I would have to agree with them,the food was very good and the service was very good as well. The only thing my wife and I would say is we felt that the chips could've been a little bit crispier as they were a little on the soft side. But the haddock and sausages were great.

The chips are a minor complaint, and we would definitely recommend anyone who is visiting Aviemore to eat here.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomintoul, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish and Chip Supper at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family and I have visited Happy Haggis three times over the past year now and everytime we have not been disappointed with both the service and the quality of the food. The staff are very freindly and helpful. Can we suggest that you put your opening times on your door as we took a trip to Aviemore last Monday and the shop was closed, we were all very disappointed not to be able to taste those lovely fish and chips, we will be back!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We regularly visit the happy haggis in Aviemore and Kingussie and we are always astounded by the service, the food and the bill. The best fish around, cooked fresh, chips are always perfect and desserts are to die for - highly reccomended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Haggis also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Happy Haggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Haggis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.