We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pizza and salad during a stop off half way through a long journey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Grampian Rd., Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
01479 810683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Lothians
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Nice pizza and salad during a stop off half way through a long journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Dropped in on my own to have a bite to eat half way through a long journey.

They were friendly, service was quick and when I had to go back to the car for my purse when I paid the bill there was no issue.

Good thin pizza base was complimented by a nice tomato and onion salad.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    189
    66
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfectly pleasant generic Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

La Taverna provides perfectly pleasant generic Italian food. The pizzas were good quality with nice toppings, the pastas seemed largely fine too. When we were there they offered an unlimited buffet option - which one of us tried - and this seemed to offer a good range of salads and pastas to eat.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My OH and I liked the look of this restaurant when we passed earlier in the day and so when we wanted to eat that evening knew just where we would head. When the told us about the buffet I thought I would have the a la carte but when I looked at the buffet the choice was so good and it looked well cooked that we decided to go for that. Not disappointed. Lovely food and as much as you wanted. What a find!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torphins, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This place is first class for families. They know exactly what you want and how to make it as simple as possible - and the food is great as well.
There is an all you can eat buffet reasonably priced but the main menu is excellent with a great selection of pizzas. Always busy so booking is a must or you face a wait in the bar.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Try the buffet - amazing value and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are not really buffet people but decided to try it as it looked so fresh! For £10.95 a head, we had a veritable banquet which we thoroughly enjoyed. It is always very busy so it's best to book. Between 5 and 7 there are loads of kids so go later if you like it quieter. This time, the place was packed with diners but the service is always attentive so that works well. The salads, olives, garlic bread, pizzas and pasta choices (all with different sauces) are amazing and nothing is old or overcooked looking because of the turnover. Total bill for three with wine and coffee £54 so it is fantastic value and a highlight of the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.