We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent . The best of best place in Aviemore.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Grampian Rd., Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
01479 810683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 51 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent . The best of best place in Aviemore.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Thank you so much guys for lovely dinner ;)Thank you for table . If you wanna have a nice dinner that restaurant is for you :-)remember better is book your table . Xxx Love.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    217
    71
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great value buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We ate here both nights of our stay in aviemore.Great Value for money. We had the all you can eat pasta, pizza and dessert buffet. Ate so much we felt ill! (letting me help myself to chocolate fudge cake and pizza was always going to end like this). I thought the staff were great, and i was surprised that they remembered us from the night before. It was nicely busy, busy enough to have an atmosphere but not so busy we had to queue. Greta place to fuel back up after a long days walking

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Ate here with my husband. The restaurant was very busy, but the service was still excellent. Nice atmosphere. We opted for the great value buffet, and I was surprised by the choice- lots of great salad items to start with and garlic bread. At least 6 different pizzas and 6 different pastas to choose from for main courses, which were nothing fancy, but tasted great, and not dried up, like food can often be from a buffet. There was also a great dessert section too. Would definitely consider eating here again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happiness on a plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I took my cousin to La Taverna on the last night of his visit to Aviemore for a snack. We had eaten a late lunch so didn't want a full evening meal but I had told him about my favourite item on the menu and wanted him to try it. We both ordered the egg florentine and his face lit up with the first mouthful. His comment - "that's it. I'm moving up." The staff were as friendly as ever, even though we were only having the starter as our meal. He also loved his glass of Peroni. Two very empty plates were left. Thank you La Taverna for making my cousin's last evening so memorable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnopfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I called here with my cousin, who is a regular customer. We were fortunate to get a table as it appears to be very popular! One of the highlights of my trip, the food was delicious, great authentic Italian atmosphere, and friendly, helpfull staff. Dining here will be a "must" on future visits to Aviemore.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.