We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan
Save
You added Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan to your Saves list
Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Forres, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to this camp site for a few years now and we love it. Its set in a pine forest, lovely walks, very clean site and the people who run it are extremely friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a small two man tent and didn't pay all that much really. Its a great site and I recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Rothiemurchus is a great campsite that we keep coming back to weekend after weekend in our campervan. Great location for hillwalking and also amazing for mountain biking. The campsite itself is also great - not too many pitches so it never feels busy, and the trees and layout give a lot of privacy and make it very picturesque. The shower block is one of the best I've been in, and there never seemed to be a queue.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

only planned on staying 2 nights and then moving on but we had such a great time we had to stay longer ,we pitched our tent in the woods next to a small stream ,we were told site was full but you would never think it ,toilet and shower facilities were great ,with a swipe card system to get in ,always had hot water ,and very clean ,a bucket and mop is left for everybody to clean up there spacious showerroom after they use it which was a great idea ,if you have a mountain bike this place is for you ,miles and miles of track to explore in stunning forest settings ,be aware book ahead you will not get in otherwise ,ps very good value for money ,

Room Tip: cant speak for caravan s etc we were camping we will be back ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights camping at Rothiemurchus campsite and loved every minute. Gorgeous scenery and excellent facilities. We camped right next to a little river amongst the trees. The toilet block was a short walk away and always very clean with everything you need. The best bit for us was the peace and quiet - it was bliss. Lovely walks around the area with good paths for walking or biking. We will definitely be back and thoroughly recommend the site for anyone looking for a quiet escape away from it all.

  • Stayed locative_common_month_year0_242b
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent four nights at this campsite and loved it!
You can choose your pitch from several areas set aside for tents only, all amongst the trees, but with the choice of by the river, on an island or on higher ground away from the river, we were spoiled! You are asked to pitch your tent at least 6 mtrs away from others which really helps to enhance the feeling you are camping alone in the woods. They can't accommodate really big tents here because of the trees, ours was a 5 man tunnel tent and we just about squeezed between trees.

Its a beautiful, serene place where the wildlife comes to you if you're lucky, we saw a woodpecker and a red squirrel whilst drinking a cup of tea outside our tent! Waking up to the smell of the pine trees and the sound of water was heavenly.

The facilities are the best I've ever seen on a campsite. They are operated by a key card (which also works the entrance barrier at night if you're out really late) and are split into 5 separate cubicles each with a toilet, shower and sink, its like camping with an en suite! They were also kept spotlessly clean. In addition to the 'en suites' there were also two separate toilets with sinks, disabled facilities and a dish washing area. My only gripe - and I'm really nitpicking - was that the showers were the push button type with about 10 secs of water.

There is so much to do in the surrounding area, we plan to visit this campsite again, no question and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a pitch away from the river if you're a light sleeper, melt water from the mountains can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This campsite is fantastic,we stayed here for 4 nights and camped on the little island that had a river on both sides and it was great to be able to sit outside the tent in the evening having dinner & a drink and listening to the water and waking up to it as well.

The site has very clean modern faciliites and everything that you would need during your stay,the staff are friendly and helpful and operate a mobile phone & camera charging service,it's also in walking distance from Aviemore which we did most of the time and a local bus also stops just outside the site should you want to head down to Loch Morlich or back into town.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan

Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst towering Caledonian pine trees in the UK’s largest national park, our tranquil camp and caravan site offers sheltered camping in a unique wilderness setting. Situated a mere 10-minute stroll from the Rothiemurchus Centre where you can book over 50 outdoor activities, this is a fantastic place to stay and experience wild Scotland. Our site boasts superb facilities with a heated amenity building with toilets, showers and a dishwashing area, plus a separate laundrette. It’s the perfect place for a holiday with your touring caravan, motor home or tent. We are sorry there are no holiday caravans for hire. Try the many cycling and walking trails in this area of outstanding natural beauty close to the Cairngorms. Or you may prefer to just simply relax and get away from it all, whilst enjoying watching the exceptional wildlife in this beautiful setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rothiemurchus Camp And Caravan Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.