We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Steak Club was excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Save
You added Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Dalfaber Drive | PH22 1ST, Aviemore, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Peterhead , Scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Scottish Steak Club was excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

For years now we have been going to Aviemore for short breaks . Usually we stay at the Macdonald Highland resort or Silverglades which is next door to Dalfaber. Last week we visited the Scottish Steak Club twice and were blown away by the quality and value.
The place has been recently done up and is far more airy and fresh than it used to be as it was getting tired. As a family we felt very comfortable sitting in the dining room watching our boys play outside on the swings as we enjoyed a drink while our meals were being prepared. The bar area was fairly busy with the open being shown on tv and it was nice to see a mix in ages and kind of folk having a good time.
Later on there was entertainment with audience participation being the name of the game , it is just a pity it wasn't on every night.
A special mention has to go to Ruth and Craig who were both stars among the staff the two evenings we enjoyed a meal there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    22
    14
    12
See reviews for
62
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is my wifes timeshare since it was built and her cup of tea but not mine. I go up very occasionally. Since my last visit eight years ago, a lot of work has gone into the main facility, including the reception, bar, restaurant and swimming pool and its a big improvement and now more up market. The patio however had not been touched for quite a long time and there were a lot of issues. These will apparently be addressed by next year, by which time it will have been refurbished. I don't like to go to the same places for our holidays, but my wife likes to go to Aviemore every year. So which ever camp you're in, if you haven't been there before it and Aviemore, are OK and the actual place within Dalfaber you stay in will depend on when it was last refurbished. There are plenty of things for the family to do, but compared to latter years, there are a lot less families now going, certainly in the week my wife has. Families in future might start to increase, if like my wife they start taking their grand-children. I think it's rather expensive if you're a timeshare holder and even more expensive if you're not. Dalfaber is inside a big loop of the River Spey, which might not be good for unsupervised children but is good if you like fishing. OK I've never caught anything, but it looks really good and I always enjoy it. Fishing on the Spey can cost £100's a day, the water either side costs £30 a day, but for residents the Dalfaber section is free (you need to get a permit). There's no delineation between the waters that I have ever seen, but that wouldn't matter to early risers. I didn't visit the restaurant or eat in the lounge (too expensive) so cannot comment but I did go to the swimming pool complex, which was very good in all respects. Internet access was supposed to be available, but it didn't work. If I go next year and the refurbishment is as good as the first (quite a few years ago now), my rating might go up to average, whereas my wifes might go up to good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We spent a week at Macdonald Dalfaber Golf and Country Club, 9-16 April 2011. The Trip Advisor reviews had made us apprehensive beforehand. In the event, we were very pleasantly surprised. The chalet was comfortable, clean, adequately fitted out and with a lovely conservatory. it would have been small for more than 4 people, but otherwise is fine. We enjoyed the free golf and leisure facilities and had an excellent meal in the restaurant. Staff were friendly and efficient. And of course the area around Aviemore is amazing with loads to do and wonderful scenery. We went snowboarding, climbed Cairngorm, visited Loch Insch watersports, drove to the coast and were never bored. All in all a great week. I would encourage others to visit this area and to stay at Dalfaber.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed in Chalet 23 for the week 9 -16 April 2011 and having read recent adverse reviews on here, were very apprehensive especially as we are owners at MacDonald Plas Talgarth and had made an internal exchange. We were very pleasantly surprised.

Our chalet had been “refurbished” although how recently we don’t know. But it was spotlessly clean with fresh linens and the beds were very comfy. The whole unit was well presented and well up to the standard experienced in Plas Talgarth and other timeshare resorts

But the units are very small ! Claiming they can sleep up to 8 is unrealistic. Three adults or two adults and two under 12’s would be the maximum. The sitting room is fine with leather sofa, two easy chairs, flat screen TV with DVD/Video player and the conservatory has the dining table with room for six. But the bedrooms are tiny with small size beds and hardly any room to walk around them. The kitchen is off the sitting room in an alcove. Calling it fully fitted is rather stretching it as whilst there is a hob, oven and microwave, the fridge/freezer is a small under the counter type. There is no dishwasher or washer/dryer although a communal machine is available. This is outdoor country and somewhere to dry wet clothes would have been useful.

And in this technology age, a telephone and internet connection in the chalet would have been very useful as the pay as you go in Reception was hopeless.

The Leisure Facilities have also been refurbished. The golf course was busy and in good condition as was the swimming pool and saunas but the hot tub was being repaired. The showers did run hot after awhile !

We turned up for the Restaurant on Thursday evening to be told no tables were available for 90 minutes. We went elsewhere but booked for 6.30pm on the Friday. We were given a warm welcome and had an excellent meal – look out for vouchers giving a 10% discount.

So the resort is making an effort and everyone we spoke to was well aware of the adverse comments and seemed to be doing their best. We saw other chalets in the process of being refurbished so there is probably a rolling programme. Maybe the management just needs to be a little more realistic in their marketing of the resort and avoid over-selling it.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Sorry to be so negative but having gone for Dinner on Sunday to find the carvery closed at 6pm (this is the busiest weekend of the year) and a hand ful of people eating in the bar I should have known better. We paid 10 quid each for roast beef dinner only to be presented with a microwaved re heated meal, deep fried roasties , packet gravy, it was terrible.
Shame as the place looks great and should be packed but they seem to have got greedy
The pool closed early both days I went to use it as had got dirty due to too many people using it, no I'm not joking. Take it a proper filter was too much for the hotel to afford.
The place is a joke

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

The lodge we normally have has become very shabby and delapitated. The previous weeks occupants were obviously smokers and the lodge was absolutely disgusting, the whole of our stay. I asked for all the duvets, pillows and bedding to be changed which was done but nothing else was attempted to get rid of the smell. The smell encroached again into the fabric of the bedding and we eventually cut our holiday short because it was so bad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

hmmm where to start, the pool started off warm at the beginning of the week but was cold at the end of the week, the jacuzzi was out of order for the entire week we were there, no hot water in the showers at the pool if you go too late on in the day i.e. after a days skiing there is no chance of getting a hot shower after a sauna or swim. A whole family cant get showered in a chalet as the hot water runs out after one person has showered so if planning on going out for the evening after a day out skiing, its either cold showers in the chalet or cold showers at the pool! (apparently hot water runs out because there are too many people staying there, this is a daily occurrence and nothing they can do about it!) Had a meal in the restaurant, wish we hadn't wasted our money, food and service was appalling especially for the prices charged, organised activities not very well organised as reception seemed to have no idea about anything which is going on, for that matter reception just seemed to be there to try and fob you off with whatever your next problem was, never muttered so much on a holiday, at least the whole family had a great time skiing and eating out, would recommend Old Bridge Inn (well worth a visit the food was lovely) and we had a takeaway from the SnowMountain chinese takeaway which was really nice too, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves except for the accommodation/facilities. Quite happily visit Aviemmore again just wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Address: Dalfaber Drive | PH22 1ST, Aviemore, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spey Valley Golf & Country Club borders the famous River Spey with spectacular views of the surrounding Spey Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. The Resort is close to the lively village of Aviemore.Spey Valley Golf & Country Club offers luxury lodges, spacious apartments and cosy Scandinavian style chalets scattered around a nine hole, par 3 golf course. The reception area, swimming pool, sports hall and other leisure facilities, along with an excellent restaurant and relaxing bar are all located in the Clubhouse.Whether you are here to enjoy an exciting activity holiday or a break in glorious scenery, you're sure to find what you are looking for at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. We wish you an enjoyable stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf & Country Club Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.