We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roo's Leap

Roo's Leap
Grampian Road, Aviemore, Scotland
01479 811161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Buckie
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We ended up here as everywhere else was booked up solid, but glad we did – we really enjoyed our meal here. Sure it’s just burgers and chips type food but it was great, big portions, tastie, great service with a smile and had a nice atmosphere.

When asking for tomato sauce and mayonnaise, instead of getting one of those tiny pots with the product in it, or those horrible sauce sachets they give you the whole bottle, wow, no having to churn through a plate of dry chips.

Great place, will be back on our next visit to Aviemore.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    114
    33
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice wholesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Coming from the burger loving era, this place was heaven. Food was well cooked atmosphere was very welcoming, staff were very friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

First time in here and def going back. Good lovely and generous portions. my wife and I had nachos to start which was supposed to be a small portion each but generous portions meant I struggled with the main course but then again I decided to have the monster bob burger. The burgers were huge and so tasty but unfortunately I couldn't finish it and that is not a reflection on the quality of food but rather the quantity. I wood have been better off by not having had the starter. If you happen to be in the area, go here for food, you will not be disappointed and the staff are so friendly. To marks to this restaurant. Definitely going back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visited this restaurant in the hope of having something different and without chips! The restaurant is situated on the platform of Aviemore Railway station but they keep the blinds to the station closed.

The food was ok, when we could eventually get the attention of the waiter - he was too busy leaning over the bar reading his paper!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Socky disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Every thing was fine, nice burgers. Until I looked up at my 5 year old daughter and she was chewing on a piece of sock left in from the bar staff. I launched the sock across the room in disgust and left without even having the dessert that I planned on having :((

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roo's Leap also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Roo's Leap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roo's Leap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.