We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforts of Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenan Lodge Guest House

Glenan Lodge Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glenan Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Glenan Lodge Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Tomatin | Inverness-shire, Aviemore IV13 7YT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comforts of Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Loved, loved, loved staying here. We had the "superior Double" on the second floor, with a very comfortable large bed, a nice couch and coffee table in a sitting area in front of the windows, and lots of space to unpack and stretch out. The bathroom was clean, light, airy, and efficient. Loved having a nice window in the bathroom. A tea kettle with teas, coffee, and biscuits was provided. We had delicious breakfasts every morning, compliments of Rob, downstairs in the cozy dining room. We stayed 4 nights and felt like we were "home", but still close enough to the A9 to do several day trips to the Cairngorm Mountains, Culloden, Inverness, Cromarty, and more! The guest house is in a nice quiet area, wonderful for sleeping; a very rural "off the road" setting. Highly recommend this as a base for exploring the Highlands.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singaporegirl_uk51, Owner at Glenan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you Susan for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Glenan Lodge and hope that you will visit again if you are in this part of Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smethwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Set amongst the wonderful scenery of the Highlands, this guest house has bags of charm and character that is sadly lacking in a lot of the numerous establishments I regularly stay in for work. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious with a very comfortable bed and sofa, an excellent range of hot beverages or bottled water and complimentary biscuits. The cleanliness of the room and the en suite were also of a very high standard and the decor was tasteful and well thought out.

The Glenan Lodge is ideally located for almost everyone with an interest in distilleries, fishing, walking, history (Culloden Moor and Inverness are less than 15 miles away) or nature photography and there cannot be many guest lodges that can boast having red squirrels in their front garden.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singaporegirl_uk51, Owner at Glenan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thanks Stu, it was a pleasure to have you stay at Glenan Lodge and the scones were delicious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggera Waters, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Great location near the Tomatin distillery, just off the A9. You are only 15 miles from Aviemore or Inverness here. The room was of a very high standard, extremely clean and plenty facilities (tv free wifi kettle drinks savoury biscuits trouser press etc) very spacious and suitable furniture (including a 2 seater couch coffee table wardrobe and 2 bedside tables) Rob and Lesley were lovely people and the breakfasts in the morning were of a very high standard, cooked to your liking. I was here for work and required a quiet environment and this was just the perfect place for me. There is also private fishing and stunning surrounding scenery, but unfortunately i was here for work purposes. I couldn't recommend the accomodation highly enough, and would rate it as the best guest lodge I have ever visited for cleanliness, service, food, facilities and accomodation. An absolute MUST if you are travelling to the highlands!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singaporegirl_uk51, Owner at Glenan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

After visiting the Tomatin Distillery, the Grenan Lodge was the natural choice. Situated on the site of the distillery, the lodge has a fantastic setting with a quaint feel. Upon my arrival I was promptly served and politely led up to my room. The room had everything expected of a four star establishment-biscuits, toiletries, stationary etc. Although small, the (single) room was perfectly formed, decor was in a country style and cleanliness was high-a fresh slightly floral scent welcomed you into the room. Breakfast was served between 8am-9am and was of a high quality, with good thickly cut bacon and lightly fried mushrooms (not too greasy) of note. The attentive owner also went out of her way to arrange me a lift back to Inverness with one of the other guests in passing!! Would defining telly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughty ferry
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a good b & b run by people that know what they are doing. Only downside for us was getting there. The track to the House is not in the best of condition some careful. Deer crossed our path also. We found it with some difficulty in the light would not want to be looking for the house in the dark. Shared loung bar. Nice if small room with good ensuite facilities. Wifi throughout. Good breakfast. A good location for walking or visiting distilleries in the area including of course Tomatin which is visible from the house.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed at the Glenan Lodge for one night (29/07/14). My Sat. Nav. told me to turn in to the Tomatin Distillery but I did not believe it (On this occasion it was correct) so I phoned the Glenan and they guided me in. On business, I only needed a single room which they provided for £37 inclusive of breakfast (which was excellent value for money and the food was very good). The room was small but perfect for the single person with plenty of cupboard space, a desk, a very well tuned and working flat screen television and WiFi. The en-suite had been well constructed with a shower cubicle that did not leak and an electric shower that actually worked well (a first in my experience). Even in this small room there was a Teapot - not a mug and teabag job this. The room was clean, the bed comfortable my only slight worry is that the walls are a bit thin and other guests could be heard relatively clearly in the next room. This is a difficult thing to sort out and is the fault of the builder. When will builders learn to soundproof? This is an ideal spot for exploring the area from and has the advantage of a distillery with a good reputation and visitor area where you can get your own personalised bottle of the Tomatin. All this I gleaned from the very good visitor book which was in the room and had been produced by Landmark Press (they also do an App). Thanks to the Glenan I had a good sleep an excellent breakfast and was at work by 9.00am rested and refreshed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It's a very remote location, lovely quiet spot in the middle of the forest - we loved it.
The breakfast was lovely. Bedrooms are in good size and have comfortable beds.

It could be a bit more cleaner. You could see the signs of mould on the window frames and what's for definite - kettles in the rooms MUST BE REPLACED as they haven't been descaled regularly.
The host was just OK - not the most welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singaporegirl_uk51, Owner at Glenan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello again and thank you for taking the time to review Glenan Lodge. We are delighted that you liked the guest house and enjoyed your breakfast. As for the cleanliness issues, we take this very seriously and have already taken steps to address the issue of small amounts of mould on some of the windowsills. The kettles are a different matter. They were all replaced at the beginning of this season and are regularly boiled with vinegar but it is pretty well impossible to stop the peat from the water causing staining. However, without this peat the local whisky would not win the accolades it does all across the globe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenan Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenan Lodge Guest House

Address: Tomatin | Inverness-shire, Aviemore IV13 7YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenan Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glenan Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenan Lodge Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenan Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.