We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenan Lodge Guest House

Glenan Lodge Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glenan Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Glenan Lodge Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Tomatin | Inverness-shire, Aviemore IV13 7YT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed at Glenan Lodge for 3 nights in May 2013. Lesley & Rob are great hosts making sure you enjoy your stay with them. Breakfast was individually cooked and served between 8 & 9 am with a choice of cereal, juice, tea/coffee and either kippers or a cooked breakfast. Lesley's evening meals were all 'home made,' and absolutely delicious. My husband and I had the family room which was very spacious and had a nice en-suite. There were tea/coffee facilities available in the room. Our son & daughter shared a twin room with the same facilities as ours. The Lodge is set in a very quiet area of Tomatin making it ideal to visit all the surrounding places. Rob gave us advice on how to see the red deer in the area, approx 10 miles from the Lodge. We would definately go back for another holiday. Excellant Holiday. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided to stay here for three nights rather than more run of the mill accommodation in town up in Inverness further north. We were very glad we stayed here. It is a wonderfully hidden location, nice big rooms, very friendly but not too 'in your face' hosts, Nice games room etc. Wonderful breakfasts each morning. A little hard to find but once we got here we were very happy for two three nights. TVs in rooms could be a little bigger, but not an issue really. Used the place as a base for hiking in the nearby Carnigorms and for a day trip to Loch Ness. and its handy for ticking off a whiskey distilliry tour as it is located behind one! Would definitely come back when next over from Australia.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This B&B has two entries here - under Aviemore and Inverness. Its half way between. Lesley and Rob made us very welcome here for 4 days. Our room (5) was a good size with a large bathroom. We had a view out of the back and every morning we saw either one or two RED squirrels out of it. Breakfast is individually cooked from fresh local ingredients and you have a choice of cereal/fruit as well. This is the reason you may be asked to nominate a time. Evening meals are available most days. It is usually a set 3 course meal at 7.30pm which you either book before you arrive or at breakfast. Beautiful food, well presented and all home made. Wine available at a little over £10 a bottle. If Lesley has enough eggs she even makes her own ice cream. Always interested in what you are you doing she also advises on where to go and what to see. Best entry is through the Tomatin distillery - do visit. Free wi-fi in lounge, dining room and some bedrooms including ours.

Room Tip: Room 5 has view of pine trees and red squirrels and wi-fi reaches it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had booked a room in preparation for my husband and me to stay during the Highland Field Games at nearby Moy. The day before we were to arrive, my husband became quite poorly. I called and said we may not be there after all and I knew that, cancelling fewer than 24 hours before anticipated check-in would mean I would have to pay the rate for the room. I didn't have a problem with that, having worked in hospitality I knew this was standard procedure. We decided I would go on my own and so I let them know the next morning. Lesley sent me a text with directions during the day while I was at Moy and I arrived about 6pm. Dinner was cooking and I hadn't arranged to eat there. Lesley was kind enough to allow me to have dinner there even thought I hadn't reserved (dinner was delicious - with homemade cream of tomato soup as the starter). I am disabled and Rob carried my bag to my room and then Lesley carried it down the next morning. The only downside is that the bathroom (in the family room - not sure why I ended up there all on my own) was very small and the water pressure quite low.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Overnight stay so we could go birdwatching in the Findhorn valley. Pleasant room, good food and friendly hosts. The best way to find Glenan Lodge is by going through the distillery!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed in a double room with a red carpeted large bath room with a bath tub.
The rule was a bit strict. Checking in time is 4-10 checkout time is 10am. This could be very strict. Do not surprise you cannot get in if you arrive too late. Leaving late is not acceptable. The room is charged 7 days before the booked date.

We have to chose between full Scottish breakfast and kipper only. Mixed fruits was nicely prepared.

I felt this lodge is organized with very tight resources.

GPS was very erratic and google directions are confusing. Call the guest house when you get lost

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

I spend most weekends up North either camping, in hotels or B&Bs. This is categorically the least helpful place I have ever stayed. The accommodation is ok however it is not near anywhere close by to eat. I booked it as their website offered evening meals. I then phoned to book an evening meal and was told that they didn't want to provide an evening meal as they had a friend staying. I was leaving early the next day (7am) and asked for a packed breakfast again well in advance (eg croissant with ham etc) and was told that they would leave some milk in the fridge (and I could have cereal) and I could make coffee in my room. It was Fawlty towers but Basil Fawlty was a lady with blue eyeshadow. Won't be back and wouldn't recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenan Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenan Lodge Guest House

Address: Tomatin | Inverness-shire, Aviemore IV13 7YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenan Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glenan Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenan Lodge Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenan Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.