We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this SYHA and hang your heads in shame.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Affric Youth Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scottish Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Affric Youth Hostel
Save Saved
You added Glen Affric Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Allt Beithe | Glen Affric, IV4 7ND, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Read this SYHA and hang your heads in shame.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is everything a youth hostel should be/ used to be. Small, cozy, simple, bunkbeds and likeminded people. I was last here in the 1980s when you had to be under twenty-five to be a member of the YHA. This time around there wasn't one person present who was under forty-five years of age. Sad ... maybe the young people of today are only interested in their computer games?
The only reason I didn't give a five star review is because of the value for money ... or lack of it. £24 per night for a bunk in a bunkhouse and a stay without food .... come on! That's almost £100 a night for a family. Maybe this partly explains the reason why there were no young people there? And would also explain the tents pitched outside when there was a cozy YHA available.
It makes me sad. The SYHA have lost there way and this reminds me of why I stopped using them twenty years ago. They concentrate on city hostels now with ensuite rooms, family rooms, wifi etc. etc. Hence the recent need for private hostels in rural places.
Still, Glen Affric hostel reminded me of my happy youth and the old fashioned hostels I used to frequent in my neck of the woods ... Glen Doll YHA, Dollar YHA, Falkland YHA. Sadly all closed.

Room Tip: Booking was a problem. This cannot be done at the usual SYHA booking office. I was passed around fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a brilliant place. Situation perfect. The warden - Audrey - is so welcoming. The craig is brilliant. i was with my 2 teenage kids and we were climbing the mountains nearby. We stayed 2 nights - we trekked in from Affric and we trekked out to Ratagan youth hostel on Loch Duich. Could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our two nights here were the highlight of a four-day walking trip on the wettest/windiest and coldest May Day Bank holiday I can remember. Our party used various different high and low-level approach routes, all arrived soaked to the skin and were all greatly appreciated the constantly on-the-boil kettle, the two wood burning stoves, the hot, clean and powerful showers and the snug 2-room hostel, Audrey (the warden) was cheery, helpful and welcoming, the kitchen had everything we needed (including quite a bit of free spare food) and the selection of games (cards, chess, Cluedo, Balderdash, Masterpiece etc) and books kept us all entertained all evening. Hostel was full, with a great mix of different nationalities (French, Dutch, American etc) and everyone very friendly, The two main dorms are a short walk away from the main hostel (so bring a torch and flip-flops or equivalent (to avoid having to put on wet boots in the middle of the night). Make sure you have booked in advance and check out your approach route, as the river crossings on some of the routes can be tricky if the rivers are in spate.

Room Tip: Don't spend too long looking for the swimming pool or fitness centre! If approaching from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We walked in from Glen Affric - its 10 miles, but with packs on our backs it took a bit longer than we'd expected at 3.75 hours (we went in via the north shore - which is basically a path and came back on the south shore which is a track, though it took effectively as long, though of the two, the views from the south looking north I thought were nicer). The hostel communal areas (kitchen, dining-room and lounge area) are real nice snug and warm - we stayed out in the dorms in a separate block - which were basic but fine (the toilet is in the main block and you will need a torch to get there) but I doubt if you are the kinda person that seeks out a place like this that you would worry about this and just enjoy the remote setting. It was nice meeting a whole range of people at the hostel - everyone was really nice and friendly - and the hostel warden, Audrey was friendly and chatty. Overall it was a great base to grab some out-of the way munros - come back have a warm shower, cook yourself a nice meal and curl up with a nice drink (note as an eco hostel you have to bring in and take out your own food/rubbish). We loved it - hope you do to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you are expecting ensuite rooms, fancy beds, breakfast, fridge, wifi, trouser press or a TV room, then this is not the place for you! The electricity supply is sporadic and is dependent upon the wind turbine and solar panels. You need to take your own food supplies, sleeping bag, pillow case cover and to carry out your rubbish. The very remote nature of this hostel means that it is no thrills.

However, what a great location and great atmosphere. It is totally cosy. Audrey, the warden, made sure that the wood burner was always on the go and that hot was available when you needed some for the shower. There was a great sense of camaraderie between all. What a great place to meet new and interesting people!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

On the long walk from Loch Affric to Loch Duich with the rain driving hortizontally it was an incredibly welcome sight to see the tin roof of the youth hostel. Colin the very friendly warden welcomed us in, made us a cup of tea and let us warm ourselves by the stove. Although we didn't stay the night (we should have !!) it looked like a cosy spotless welcoming place to stay. The location is fantastically wild and if you start later in the day a great place to break the 18 mile walk through to Loch Duich.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

How does a hostel sound with an incredibly cramped kitchen with only one stove and sink? Only two loos. No drying room. One shower. A dormitory which is literally an unheated outside shed. If it sounds terrible don't visit.
The wonder is that it's here at all. If you want the ultimate back-to-nature, get-away-from-it-all expereince this is for you. Three hours walk from the nearest road, you must carry all your food and a sleeping bag.
You will be rewarded with excellent camaraderie, character, friendliness, all in a truly outstanding location surrounded by high mountains. I slept like a log.
It was very popular and hard to book. The one downside was that a group of volunteer workers did rather dominate and take over the facilities, an especial pain when the weather was bad and drying clothes was difficult. Other than that I'd say it was in a class all by itself. Standard assessment is almost meaningless.
But do not try it if you really need your creature comforts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Affric Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Affric Youth Hostel

Address: Allt Beithe | Glen Affric, IV4 7ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Scottish Highlands
Also Known As:
Glen Affric Youth Hostel Scotland/Scottish Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Affric Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.