We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here many times - still great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of asia style

asia style
st. georges road, Glasgow, Scotland (West End)
Improve this listing
Ranked #563 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: West End
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Been here many times - still great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Asia Style is fantastic. It's not the fanciest place in the world but the service is excellent, the food is amazing and the portions are very big; I've never left without a doggy-bag (no way I'm getting rid of that food.)

My favourite meal is the Szechuan Chicken which is spicy and delicious but the Pork Belly on rice is great as are the spring rolls.

A great novelty factor is that it's open until about 1am, so if you want to go out for dinner at 12 you can. One of my best ever dates has been watching a film then taken out for a meal there at 11pm. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    36
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

No Chinese restaurant compares to Asia Style.

Just go.

Have the salt and chilli soft shell crab and the crispy shredded beef. You'll only need one starter and main for two but you'll probably want to order more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still Great food- Price Edging out of comfort zone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I recently visited here as it was my dad's birthday. This has been a firm favourite for many years and my partner and I used to frequent here after late shifts [ it's open til 2am].

The service was great, and the women who looked after our table were constantly refilling our tea and making sure everything was fine. The lady also recommended my mothers dish- which was very much enjoyed.

This brings me to the food. The food, in my opinion has not slipped in standard. Contrary to other reviews, I don't feel like the portions are any smaller than before. I had the salt and pepper squid [mild- to my liking], my mum had the Malaysian chicken recommended by the waitress and my dad had pork belly. All delicious.

Yes, the pricing is edging up a little, however you are still leaving with a full belly of good food and it is still good value for what you get. I will be back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fab food as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Back for the 1st time in a few years (no longer live in Glasgow, unfortunately) and has doubled in size. Thankfully the food is as good as I've been dreaming of - sublime Malaysian and salt & pepper soft shell crabs. Have come home happy from fab food but bemoaning the distance to good restaurants...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I used to love this place - what's happened??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

My experience was like so many others. Prices have gone up whilst standards have gone down. My spring rolls were so salty I couldn't eat them (and their wasn't much except beans odours in them) and my main was stone cold when it arrived. Having sent it back I didn't enjoy the microwaved version. Wouldn't dream of going back. What a shame!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed asia style also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to asia style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage asia style, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.