We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pizza, shame about the pasta” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gambrinos

Gambrinos
333 Great Western Road, Glasgow G4 9HS, Scotland (West End)
0141339 4111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #346 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: West End
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice pizza, shame about the pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Gambrinos before and had looked forward to going back. Positives - friendly, quick service. The wine was nice however i don't think it was exactly what we ordered. Starters were ok, nothing special. My girlfriends pizza was tasty, however my pasta dish was clearly dried penne, drastically overdone, with a tasteless watery sauce. Really disappointing for an Italian restaurant and one that I'd had found memories of. Unfortunately I won't be back as I suspect there are many better options in the near vicinity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a really lovely meal on Friday evening. We were spoilt rotten. Ken and his staff were so attentive but at the same time made us feel very relaxed. Food was yummy. As was wine (thanks for picking that out or us). We had a selection of scrummy antipasti to start with some very tasty rosemary and salt pizza bread. We then had two very lovely pasta dishes. Mine had a real chilli kick with lots of big juicy prawns. Finally we had some affogato and cherries with ice cream. Yum.
We had a lovely relaxing night and we will be back. Thank you so much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superb Food & Fantastic Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have eaten in Gambrino loads of times both family gatherings and as a couple. The food is absolutely stunning and both the pizza, pasta and meat dishes are all equally superb. The surroundings are cosy and relaxing. The atmosphere is a perfect way to relax and enjoy a great night out. My favourite being cozze al vino blanco and spaghetti Napoli. A great meal with 5 star service and staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pizza is amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a brilliant girls night here, the staff were so accommodating at short notice. Service was great and the pizza was the best I have ever tasted. Go!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

i have eaten in Gambrinos a couple of times now and i have to say the food was amazing and the staff were very friendly and welcoming, I normally ate at another italian in the west end but after being to Gambrinos i will definately be coming here from now on, the amount of food that i got for the price was really good value for money and tastes great, I would highly recommend this restaurant to all my family and friends. thank you for a lovely meal and look forward to seeing you's soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gambrinos also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Gambrinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gambrinos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.