We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family birthday meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waverley Tea Room

The Waverley Tea Room
18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
+44 845 659 5903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #421 of 1,720 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands, join us for a drink, a bite to eat and service that stands out when compared to other pubs and restaurants in the area. If you work, shop or live in the Southside area, then The Waverley Tea Room is here to offer you a great venue for drinking, dining and above all relaxing. We are an excellent venue whether there are just a couple of you, or you are looking for a group booking. With the largest open air terrace and beer garden this side of the Clyde, we are specialists when it comes to al fresco. If the Glasgow weather is a little too fresh for you, then we have our stylish restaurant situated in our glass conservatory, or the cosy interior of the traditional Tea Room, where you can sit, relax and be overwhelmed by our floor to ceiling wine gantry. Whatever the time of day you visit, you'll find a welcome with a smile. From all of us here at The Waverley Tea Room, we look forward to seeing you.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Went here last night for a 40th birthday night out. There were 9 of us and we had a table in the box. The service was great and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. Been here a few times for a light snack during the day, first time here in the evening. The place was busy but this didn't affect the speed or quality of the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
angela p, we're thrilled you enjoyed your night with us! Serving you was a pleasure too! We endeavour to deliver a good time whether it's a Friday night and we're jampacked, or if you're in for a quiet coffee during the day.

Brilliant to know you had a great night, and we look forward to having you back again!

The Team Room Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    71
    33
    23
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Soft play and lunch! Genius!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

What a great idea to have soft play in a restaurant. Granted its not huge but it was enough to keep my 2 year old and her friend entertained before lunch was served. After lunch they were off for another play while the mummy's chatted.
Food was lovely too and presented well. My daughter loves her child's portion of macaroni and cheese and I had grilled chicken.
We will definelty be back here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hi jacmac1810,

great to know you and the kids had such a great time!

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

The Tea Room Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Remains poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had not been for 2 years after a bad experience smoked out by the fire in the upper bar but thought time has passed try again. Unfortunately not much change in poor extremely slow service poor food only 2 out of 6 meals served were enjoyed and the glass box is like a sweat box when the rare scottish sun shines. Don't choose to sit on the white chairs they are so uncomfortable adding to an over all disappointing return visit. Needless to say unlikely to return

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
herries2116, we're really disappointed to hear you had such a shocking visit. We'd love to hear about the service and food further, so we can try and understand just what went wrong.

Contact us on 0141 616 6818 if you would like to discuss your visit further with Michael, our General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We sat outside in the decking area as it was sunny. Lovely atmosphere, quick service, friendly. would recommend. havent eaten here yet but will return as the food looked lovely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Irene C,

we're glad you've had the chance to enjoy the terrace; it's a real treat in the summer with a nice cool one!

It'll be good to have you in for food some time - try the Chicken and Chorizo Penne - it's really tasty! Then again, it all is!

See you soon!

The Tea Room Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First Visit and will NOT be the last.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a birthday treat to my mum ( who is a fussy eater) we chose the Waverley Tea Rooms to try . As a disabled person i let the restaurant know in advance and an adequate table was reserved for us . As soon as we walked in the door we were welcomed very warmly, which was a very good start to our fantastic meal. Menu choice was great. The service was out standing and the food outstanding. What a lovely warm family friendly atmosphere this place brings. Can not wait to bring the rest of my family along .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi paulene123,

Thanks for your sterling review! We're chuffed to bits your visit was so well enjoyed (especially by mum!)

We can't wait to have you back!

The Tea Room Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waverley Tea Room also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Waverley Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waverley Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.