We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People watching in Glasgow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amarone Glasgow

Amarone Glasgow
2 Nelson Mandela Place, Glasgow G2 1BT, Scotland (Anderston)
+44 141 333 1122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #604 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $25 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Nestled in one of Glasgow’s main shopping areas on the corner of Buchanan Street and Nelson Mandela Place, and just a two minute walk from Glasgow's Royal Concert Hall, Amarone Glasgow is perfect for a mid-shopping-spree lunch, or an early, pre-symphony dinner. Also those looking for a romantic evening need look further: our venue offers an intimate and atmospheric setting to enjoy fine, Italian dining with that special someone.We all know that eating is a serious matter in Italy and we use the very best ingredients sourced both from specialist Italian suppliers and from our local area. To add to your dining experience, our team of highly specialised and committed staff are on hand to serve you. Our many award wins are testament to our winning formula of great food, perfect venues and dedicated customer service. Glasgow Amarone can boast Glasgow’s Best Overall Restaurant of the Year.
Lochwinnoch
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“People watching in Glasgow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were shopping (dreadful occupation) in a nearby mall where the temperature and humidity were insufferable. we nipped outside for an hour to try to get some fresh air and came upon this restaurant. We sat at the outside tables and had a soda and lime each. Not a lot on which to rate a restaurant but it was very good. The staff served us cheerfully and promptly and we spent a happy half hour watching the Glaswegians and their visitors strolling up and down Buchanan Street. I had a quick look inside the restaurant area itself and was very impressed. Lots of hot water in the immaculately clean toilets and good quality soap and hand lotion was provided. I will return here for a meal and I am sure I will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    255
    141
    47
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely dining in the rare scottish sunshine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Visited here the other day on a friend's recommendation. We were seated outside which was great as it was a lovely sunny day and the atmosphere was great as everyone seemed to be in a great mood. We were seated quickly, but had to wait 5/10 mins before we were given a menu and drinks orders taken...this didn't bother us so much as we were enjoying our surrounds and the restaurant was packed. We ordered off of the set menu which good value for money and a good choice. The food was lovely, but I don't know, maybe my exceptions were too high due to my friend's recommendation. I would eat here again, but there are many other places I would pick ahead of this restaurant in the city center.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Another visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is my second visit here, as visiting Glasgow for a leisure break. This time I had the option of Al Fresco and it didn't disappoint. It was hot and sunny and I felt sorry for the staff as they had to rush around in the hot temperatures. I decided to have the early menu at £13.95 for two course. It was well presented and delicious. The staff are very attentive. I think the many clientèle eating in Amarone tells it all. Location is excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good quality food, great surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice restaurant in the city centre, great atmosphere. Quick service and big variety on the menu. Various vegetarian options available.
My favourite has to be the "Focaccia Calabrese", which is a pizza base topped only with ricotta cheese and caramelized onions. Delicious!
I've been to Amarone a few times, also with friends and it never disappoints.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beyond excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful surprise find! Fantastic friendly attentive service, food beyond amazing (order the scallops), and beautiful setting outside under the trees on a beautiful sunny day. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarone Glasgow also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Amarone Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarone Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.