We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cracking restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarone Glasgow

Amarone Glasgow
2 Nelson Mandela Place, Glasgow G2 1BT, Scotland (Anderston)
+44 141 333 1122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #608 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $25 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Nestled in one of Glasgow’s main shopping areas on the corner of Buchanan Street and Nelson Mandela Place, and just a two minute walk from Glasgow's Royal Concert Hall, Amarone Glasgow is perfect for a mid-shopping-spree lunch, or an early, pre-symphony dinner. Also those looking for a romantic evening need look further: our venue offers an intimate and atmospheric setting to enjoy fine, Italian dining with that special someone.We all know that eating is a serious matter in Italy and we use the very best ingredients sourced both from specialist Italian suppliers and from our local area. To add to your dining experience, our team of highly specialised and committed staff are on hand to serve you. Our many award wins are testament to our winning formula of great food, perfect venues and dedicated customer service. Glasgow Amarone can boast Glasgow’s Best Overall Restaurant of the Year.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A cracking restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ok I'll admit it I'm biased when it comes to Amarone but the food and the service is superb.

We had another wonderful experience and the staff are super friendly without being over powering.

The 64000 dollar question is would I go back ? and the answer is a massive yes.

Best to pre book as its always a busy place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    164
    53
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tranent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful decor, nice atmosphere. Although they were very busy and we hadn't booked they managed to fit us in. Great menu, something for all tastes. Fantastic food. Drinks were expensive with a pint of Peronie at £4.50. Service was first class.
My only real complaint was that the tables for 4 people were very small and we struggled to get all the plates on and have room to cut our food, when i go back i would ask for a booth type table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Called in on impulse, mid afternoon, so not too busy. The menu has something for everyone. On this occasion decided to have rack of lamb, and it was cooked to perfection, along with the accompanying vegetables. Service was efficient and knowledgeable, and everyone there is so pleasant. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience, and will certainly be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
731 helpful votes 731 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Return trade relies on the first experience and again, they deliver.

Had crab meat and prawn risotto. Had there been a pattern on the plate, I'd have had that as well !

I'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Two of us went for Friday evening meal. The prawns to start were lovely if a little heavy on the chilli. The fish mains were beautifully cooked and very tasty. Great friendly service with a complimentary limoncello to finish. Always recommend this place to friends

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarone Glasgow also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Amarone Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarone Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.