We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Average but Lunch Service was Hit & Miss.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Napoli, Glasgow, Scotland.

Bella Napoli, Glasgow, Scotland.
85 Kilmarnock Road, Glasgow G41 3YR, Scotland
+44 141 632 4222
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bella Napoli, Glasgow, Scotland. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #181 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Glasgow���s pizza connoisseurs know that the best place in town to come for a knock-out Italian feast is Bella Napoli ��� an iconic Glasgow institution on the Kilmarnock Road. With countless awards to his name, head chef Domenico Crollo took Bella Napoli over from his father in 2005, and the art of Italian cookery is in his blood. Flying to Italy to source the best flour, mozzarella and Italian wines, Crollo has created pizza perfection at Bella Napoli, and this vibrant restaurant is a must for any serious lover of great Italian food. Spread out over three levels, this welcoming venue serves everything from espressos and sandwiches to pasta, risotto, burgers, steaks and outstanding homemade puddings.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Better than Average but Lunch Service was Hit & Miss.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Midweek and mid-afternoon after 'the rush'.

Our initial welcome was friendly and attentive. The main restaurant is only open at evenings on weekends, although a full menu is served in what's best described as the cafe upstairs which has atmosphere but the decor is all over the place.

We opted for the express lunch and found the food and wine to be perfectly acceptable at £6.95 each (+ drinks). Then in opposites the service fell to pieces, took a while for plates to be cleared, not asked if we wanted coffee, caught their eye some ten minutes later to be delivered coffees with no sugar and desserts with no spoons. In consideration of the staff to client ratio this was not good and let down what seemed promising.

I'd give it a second chance as everyone has a bad day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genny68, Owner at Bella Napoli, Glasgow, Scotland., responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We have taken these on board and will deal with them.
Hopefully we will get 5/5 on your next visit.
thanks
Domenico Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    60
    21
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We come here every Friday, when possible. Great food, nice atmosphere and friendly staff! Recently I haven't been able to go as often, and I miss it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Nothing exciting, the staff were nice and the surroundings were clean, I had a cheese pizza which was ok

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Superb pizza: I recommend the calzones! Visited here numerous times, and always had a good meal. A varied menu too - some of my family are quite fussy, but everyone finds something they like here.

Only complaint was that on my most recent visit, the staff had not recorded my reservation, so we had to wait a while for a table and eventually were seated upstairs (however, being new year's eve, a ten minute wait wasn't too bad).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great value and lovely food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We always go here on New Years Eve and this year's visit did not disappoint. Staff nice, food great and good value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Napoli, Glasgow, Scotland. also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bella Napoli, Glasgow, Scotland.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Napoli, Glasgow, Scotland., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.