We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service - just wish they had a wider dessert range.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Andaluz West End

Cafe Andaluz West End
2 Cresswell Lane, Glasgow G12 8AA, Scotland
+44 141 339 1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 1,720 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $17 - $43
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Andaluz in Cresswell Lane is our original restaurant, opened in 2003. It is a great place for couples, groups and families. Set in semi basement level, the décor of bright coloured tiles, dark wood and patterned ceramics creates a genuine Andalucian warmth, sit back with a glass or pitcher of sangria and you’ll feel like you’re back on holiday in no time.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service - just wish they had a wider dessert range.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've visited this west-end restaurant several times in the past, and most recently dined in a party of three. Between us we shared a number of dishes, all of which were excellent: fresh, hot, tasty, and from a wide selection of dishes.

The service was friendly and prompt as usual and the friendly chat from our server was most appreciated.

The only reason I haven't given five stars is that the dessert range is a little bit lacking. There's only a few pre-made cakes to choose from and they're all kind of... plain. I appreciate that the average Scot's lust for sticky toffee pudding and chocolate fudge cake might not translate well into a Spanish tapas restaurant, but if the desserts could match the quality of the tapas, the restaurant would be truly awesome.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    114
    90
    36
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The food was delicious. The restaurant itself is very well layed out and spacious. The manager Tomas looked after us well and the rest of the staff were very pleasant which made the whole experience very enjoyable. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fab !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went in yesterday 7/02/14 my partner and i had a lovely tapas meal , the wine was even better !! lovely surroundings , pleasant staff very helpful really enjoyable time , cant wait to return !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

First time at Cafe Andaluz following recommendatiion from friends and was not disappointed! Lovely atmosphere with charming decor. Made to feel very welcome on arrival and were seated and had orders taken very promptly. Great selection of dishes with reasonable prices. Food was served quickly and was piping hot. Very happy with the standard of the food and portion sizes of the Tapas were generous. Great little place. Would definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The thing I love most about Cafe Andaluz is the decor inside and the atmosphere. The Spanish feel really translates all through the restaurant and has a cosy exotic feel. The service is fantastic and the food is lovely but not blow you away fabulous. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Andaluz West End also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Andaluz West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Andaluz West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.