We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khublai Khans

Khublai Khans
26 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1LD, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 141 552 5646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #316 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $8 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This restaurant we visited with my partner. Our friends recommended to us. So we wanted to try something different, and it was. Restaurant nice & clean, staff polite, attentive. I had mushroom soup, and was amazing, never had better mushroom soup. Marsbar Cheesecake was excellent too. The main course was good, i choose zebra was different but nice. Will be back to try the rest. Overall good restaurant, something different.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    118
    59
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Enjoyable expericence and worth a visit.

We both had wild boar for starters which we both enjoyed. We enjoyed the whole experience of selecting the fresh ingredients and having cooked infront of you.

The service was excellent when we visited, the waitress was very friendly and also was able to give us some tips regarding the sauces.

Would recommend - wish there was an option for 'good' ...feel that our experience was better than average but not worthy of very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to write a short review about your experience with us. I'm pleased that the experience was a positive one, that the service was excellent & that you enjoyed the overall concept.
Thanks once again & we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
kind regards,
James Reid
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pre theatre is great value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Dined on the pre theatre menu which is excellent value for money. Food was good, atmosphere great however service was somewhat slow.

Defo worth a visit, even if its just for the exotic meat novelty factor.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hi There,
Thanks for your comments regarding your dining experience. We value all feedback. I'm delighted that you found it to be good value for money & the food was good. I have taken on board you comments with regards the service & appreciate you pointing this out.
Thanks again & we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
kind regards,
James Reid
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had heard about this place from a few sources but had never got round to trying it out. I'm glad we did. A unique dining experience from start to finish. It did help that we were with folk that had been before so they showed us the ropes. From ordering the starter to concocting the main course (as many times as you liked) to watching your own chosen meal getting cooked it was a fascinating eating experience.All the meats available had good descriptions about them and also what spices etc could go with them. A large range of spices, pickles and sauces were available, you could be as adventurous or conservative as you liked. I would recommend Khublai Khans to anyone however I think it is better savoured as a special occasion once in awhile to keep the whole experience fresh.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Duty Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant. We appreciate any comments and feedback from our guests. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your night with us and that the whole concept of the restaurant worked for you and your guests.
Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matthew Reed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“An exotic meat feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Following a recommendation out of the Lonely Planet - Scotland guidebook my girlfriend and I experienced a wonderful meal full of exciting new tastes, including Spring Bock and Zebra. Staff friendly and knowledgeable, and the make your own mains is a fun experience. A bit on the pricey side but worth the experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to write a short review about your recent experience. We really value your feedback. Firstly we're pleased to hear about the recommendation from Lonely Planet. We're also delighted that you had a wonderful meal & enjoyed the various tastes on offer.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
kindest regards,
James Reid
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khublai Khans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.