We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khublai Khans

Khublai Khans
26 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1LD, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 141 552 5646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #316 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $8 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Interesting concept - takes a bit of courage to wonder around and combine a dish for yourself, but the result is great. Loved the opportunity to taste lots of different meats during one visit to the restaurant. Location is also great.
Not everyone's cup of tea I guess but if you are open minded and enjoy trying new things, visiting Khublai Khan is a must.
Very enjoyable experience!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khublai K, General Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hi There,
We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent dining experience. I'm delighted that you had a good night and that you enjoyed tasting our various exotic meats. Thanks again & we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
kind regards,
James Reid
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    118
    59
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good to try new things you wouldnt usually !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Good range of foods to choose from , zebra , springbok, wildebeast and octupus ! The only downside was the bowls you put your food in are tiny !!! Is a good experience though!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great theme... Ends there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Served the wrong starter 3 times. The grill is just worrying...same implements methods and times applied no matter what the ingredients.fish like rubber. The only way to enjoy this it's to be very drunk..as evidenced by many of the customers

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to relate your recent experience at the restaurant. We genuinely value all feed back, even when it's negative.
I am very dissapointed you had an unsatisfactory evening. I am at a loss to explain how you could be given the wrong starter three times - we only have seven on the menu!
As for your reservations concerning our cooking methods, I can assure you that there is absolutely no concerns on the food safety front. Obviously all the dishes are cooked using the same stir-fry method but the Grill Chefs are constantly monitoring the meals and take them off the hotplate when each individual dish is ready.
Once again, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your visit but thank you for your feed back.
Kind regards
Andrew
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Lots to offer and a wide variety of food, staff were friendly and helpful and prices reasonable for a nice meal out

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi Lynsey
Thanks very much for taking the time to drop a line to Tripadvisor. All of us here at KK are delighted you enjoyed the experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Andrew
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

for a start the place is empty and has no atmosphere. i appreciate the fact that it's more of a novelty restaurant and it is cool that you can try all the unusual meats but having raw meat on top of noodles when you're taking it up to be cooked makes me really squeamish :/

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi
Thanks ver ymuch for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to Khublai Khans. I am very sorry that you didn't particularly enjoy the experience. As far as mixing raw meat with the other ingredients, I can assure you that from a food safety aspect there is absolutely no problem as everything is thoroughly cooked on the open hotplate before being returned to the diner in a fesh bowl. Hope that helps to put your mind at rest.
Kind regards
Andrew
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khublai Khans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.