We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Chicken Dosa with Lenthil Curry and Butter Chicken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother India's Cafe

Mother India's Cafe
1355 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8AD, Scotland
01413399145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night Food, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Try the Chicken Dosa with Lenthil Curry and Butter Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I am basically from India and I think this is traditional authentic Indian restaurant. Its a tapas style restaurant, where you can oder 4=-5 dishes for 5 pounds, which is a great deal and the food is very authentic and of high quality unlike other Indian restaurants in Scotland. Most Indian restaurants in Scotland are not authentic as the food is prepared according to British tastes (with less spices and chillies). But Mother India Cafe is very different, just try it once and you will endup going there every time you are in Glasgow and Edinburgh

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    132
    24
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but unenjoyable.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First of all, the food here was delicious. Each dish was better than the last. However...

I can cook good food at home, I go out to eat on a Saturday evening for the ambience, the atmosphere, to experience something that I won't get at home. The buzz. I pay 40+ pounds for this experience.

My whole experience at Mother India's Cafe was marred by the service. Waiting staff peered through the partition every two minutes during the 38 minutes we were seated. There is no booking so there was a queue down the block (a testament to the food) and you are conscious the whole time that wait staff are wanting a quick turnaround and so is everyone else staring at you and waiting for you to finish. It was over the top. I don't mind a booking where they ask you to vacate by a certain time, but this was outrageous. The cost for the time spent and the feeling we had to gulp wine and gobble this lovely food just ruined the whole experience. It seems greedy of the owners that they put their staff and customers in this position. Food should be more about the experience rather than shovelling calories in. Oh, and a note the waitress who took the bill fold before we had paid--everyone knows that you wait to see a credit card or cash peeking out before you grab it two seconds after you put it down. Jeez, I've got indigestion just thinking about how rushed through we were.

We won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asif A, General Manager at Mother India's Cafe, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi my name is Asif and i'm the GM off the Mother India Group.
First off all please accept my apologies for the way your evening worked out.
The last thing we want to do is to make customers feel as if they are being rushed.
We wouldnt have had the success we have had with the cafe or any other business if it wasnt for our customers.
I do hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves.
I will DM you my email address and hopefully if you do visit us again i will make sure service is up to the standards set by the company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Went as a group of 12 people and the restaurant was busy but not full. It took 20 minutes for everyone to receive drinks and menus which wasn't a great start. I ordered the chicken curry and it was a bit bland. My friend ordered the same but asked for it to be extra spicy, it turned out exactly the same as mine - not very spicy at all! Was also an incredibly noisy place! Didn't live up to the hype I'm afraid!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asif A, General Manager at Mother India's Cafe, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi my name is Asif and I'm the GM off the Mother India Group.
Im sorry to read about the experience you had at one off our restaurants .
Was it the cafe you went to or Mother India?
I will look into this as soon as i have the details
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“it was the best of meals, it was the worst of meals.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

apologies to Mr. Dickens and to my fellow reviewers who were less than euphoric; however for sheer taste, variety and freshness I have to say it was one of the best Indian meals we've had.
maybe it was becuase the restaurant was busy and we chose the specials so that freshness and availability was at the top of the scale.

the buttery papadoms, the coriander nan and the ginger lamb were just great; my tastebuds are not the most discerning but I couldnt mistake the flavours and the big chunks of lamb were fat free and tender.

enough for repletion for 2 and £20 - ye cannae wack it - either its just plain good or we hit it on an exceptional day

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Indian Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Mother Indias cafe is a very friendly restaurant that allows you to order Indian dishes in a tapas fashion and sample lots of different dishes. We went with two children and the choice for them was excellent, lovely chicken pieces that the boys loved. Unfortunately you can't book so pick your time and either be prepared to wait or go early. Indian food at its best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother India's Cafe also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Mother India's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother India's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.