We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uplawmoor Hotel

Uplawmoor Hotel
Neilston Rd, Glasgow G78 4AF, Scotland
+44 (0)1505-850-565
Improve this listing
Ranked #380 of 1,838 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $62
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely gorgeous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous food, service, atmosphere, pleasant staff and surroundings, great choice of food, I will definitely return, there wasn't many people there which surprised me especially with such high standards in my opinion more people should go here as they are missing out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lovely evening out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Shown to our table right away, and offered another if more suitable. Service excellent.
Food was lovely, My wife had soup, followed by baked ham and chicken salad and a pot of tea, I had house special pate, then haddock and chips with a nice pot of tea, jug of iced water on the table, nearly perfect. We were in the lounge bar, nice and warm and friendly atmosphere. I liked the idea that my trial tastecard could be used and it halved my bill. Price including two cokes was a very reasonable £24. Thought the cokes were a bit expensive at £1.90 each, why are drivers having to pay over the odds for soft drinks. Overall a very enjoyable evening, and we shall return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fab food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

High tea being served on a Sunday afternoon was great today, good menu to choose from and the cakes were fantastic :) brilliant value for money, looking forward to going back soon!..........................................

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bit expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I've been going here for years but when went this week for dinner, and an early dinner about 17.00, I was struck how expensive it was. Yes the food was fine, although I don't think the menu is as good as it used to be and being honest I don't think the quality of the food is the same, in addition the surroundings are very dated.

£37 for an early dinner and also early in the week is a bit steep for 2 courses for 2 people with a drink each.

I would hesitate to return and do the same again.

Disappointing all round I would say, noisy locals at the bar didn't help

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely pub lunch with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Lunch on a Monday service excellent food lovely and excellent value. We ate from the set menu but there were lots of specials. Too full for pudding a lovely coffee with tablet we'll be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uplawmoor Hotel also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Uplawmoor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uplawmoor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.