We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard tapas bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Andaluz City Centre

Cafe Andaluz City Centre
13-15 St Vincent's Street, Glasgow G1 2DW, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 141 222 2255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Our Glasgow City Centre restaurant has been open since November 2006, and has become one of the most popular restaurants in Glasgow. We attribute this success to our freshly prepared tapas & friendly staff who are always happy to explain our menu and suggest their favourites.We do not compromise on the quality of our raw materials and offer a wide variety of vegetarian, meat and seafood dishes. These are great to share with groups of friends or family, and are a perfect combination when accompanied with one of our Spanish wines, speciality cocktails or our authentic sangria.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“High standard tapas bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The decor is more Moorish than actual Andalucia, and this was a hint as to the menu and the experience in general. The waiter was a cheeky chappie, with a good line in chat, and the menu eas...well, varied. The tapas proper were accompanied by a series of faintly Scottish dishes such as scallops and haggis/sausage/something plus bacon. The chorizo al vino was good. The three indicators of quality in any tapas bar - tortilla, gambas (prawns) and pulpo/calamares (octopus/squids) - were all passable. I'd give them 9, 7 and 6 out of ten, respectively. The wine list wasn't bad, and we had a good tempranillo I hadn't heard of before. Not absolutely meteoric (apart from the scallops, to which I am an uter slave) but certainly very good. Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    208
    56
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was the first visit to Cafe Andaluz for my girlfriend and I, but after the meal we had it certainly won't be the last! Booked online to have a set menu, but once we arrived and were seated, we decided that the set menu may not be for us. This wasn't a problem to the staff, and we were given a la carte menu's which we decided to order from. The restaurant is situated just off George Square, so perfectly situated for a bit of people watching, especially if you are seated at a window which we were. The menu is varied, however, I have been to other tapas bars where there is a wider selection. What we had from the menu was delicious though, so it may be that they concentrate on producing a smaller variety to a high standard, rather than having a vast menu where the quality is only average. The patatas bravas and chorizo with black pudding are recommended, though we found the grilled goats cheese to be somewhat rich. Service was pleasant without being spectacular, though we visited on a Saturday night when I would imagine the restaurant is at its busiest. Staff were able to cope satisfactorily, though there were few personal touches such as recommendations from the wine list and being offered the dessert menu when finished with our tapas. The food speaks for itself in this place though, and we will definitely be back. Though we may be tempted to try the Glasgow West End restaurant next time to see if their service is slightly better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lunch deal is fantastic value. I have been several times with friends and we never get a bad meal. we all normally go for some favourites. Chicken in batter with Honey and Mustard dressing, Braised Pigs cheeks chorizo and Black Pudding Calamares to name a few and man they are great. Staff are friendly and efficient. Atmosphere is good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“None of the expected classic tapas...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was my first foray into non-Scotish food in Glasgow. I was hungry, tired, and at least looked forward to some soothing classics. I was seated right away in this bustling, fast-paced atmosphere. The hostess was able to suggest an excellent wine by the glass that would pair very well with the food to come. However, as I looked at the menu, there was nothing I craved which should be standard faire in any tapas place: croquetas de bacalao, champiñones al ajillo, nor even flan. I asked the server to find out from the kitchen what their freshest fish was. The answer came back "Mackerel" and actually it was very good with the wine. The salad was good and fresh, but the chicken thighs were almost inedible: dried out and old-tasting.The meal was not cheap, nor the staff particularly engaging.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“So good, we went twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Wonderful tapas place in Glasgow! If you need a break from the haggis, stop by this place. The service was great (even on really busy nights) and the prices pretty decent for central Glasgow. We ended up dining here twice, we liked it that much. We had the chorizo in wine and it was unbelievable! They also have a good wine selection and great desserts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Andaluz City Centre also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Andaluz City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Andaluz City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.