We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good for sleeping in” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow to your Saves list
ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2a Springfield Quay, Glasgow G5 8NP, Scotland (Formerly Etap Hotel Glasgow)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 15% OFF
Ranked #72 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only good for sleeping in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This Hotel is clean and friendly but is definitely not recommended for staying any longer than one night. The rooms are clinical in nature, white washed walls, wooden floor and tiny shower room. Everything about it is budget. No coffee making in room, no drawers to put clothes in or even a wardrobe, just some coat hangers on a rail in the corner. Definitely wont be back in one of these Hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your review about the ibis budget Hotel Glasgow on Tripadvisor.

Our rooms are basic so we can keep the costs low and pass on fantastic rates for our guests. I'm glad that you found our hotel clean and friendly

We hope that you might decide to stay with us again should the need arise.

Kind regards

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    339
    276
    122
    154
See reviews for
161
352
98
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

journeying from Bristol to Oban we needed an overnight stop in Glasgow. this hotel was
easy to find and good value. we got a good nights sleep and were able to complete the
journey the next day refreshed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your very good review about the ibis budget Hotel Glasgow on Tripadvisor.

I was really happy that you found our hotel good value.

We hope to welcome you back to stay in the near future.

Kind regards

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everything was in working order the sheets and surfaces including the washing areas were very clean and the staff were all very lovely, and constantly had a smile on their face, the only fault if I had to pick one was that the towels weren't very big, they were hand towels and a bigger one would have been better when using the shower.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your very good review about the ibis budget Hotel Glasgow on Tripadvisor.

I was really pleased that you found our hotel very clean and our staff lovely.

We hope to welcome you back to stay in the near future.

Kind regards

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Excellent value for money, we stayed here the night of a concert. Good location for SECC, walkable. Entrance part I found a bit intimidating, like we had to go up the lift in a multi storey block before we got to reception. Room clean basic and modern. Only thing missing was a kettle

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your good review about the ibis budget Hotel Glasgow on Tripadvisor.

I was really pleased that you had a good stay in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to stay in the near future.

Kind regards

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here on the 1st of December for a girls night out for £60 you don't expect much but what w got was not worth it. After our night out we come back to the hotel to be greeted by the police looking for a lady of the night who was trying to get in the rooms. We sat and had a drink at the bar which had not much choice when people where coming in at half three in the morning with not pants on and fur jackets you know it's wrong. Reception could say there was no room at 3 but one at 5 which hotel could tell you this the reception are in on the scam as we where told by the cleaner it happens all the time ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub M, Manager at ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your review about the ibis budget Hotel Glasgow on Tripadvisor.

I'm really sorry that you haven't enjoyed your stay in our hotel. This is definitely not a true reflection of the normal standards you would expect when choosing an ibis budget.

I can assure you there is no scam in reception, however please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards

Jakub Makuchowski
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow

Address: 2a Springfield Quay, Glasgow G5 8NP, Scotland (Formerly Etap Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Budget Hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms at budget prices. We pride ourselves on the excellent value for money, Situated in the Springfield Quay, one of the Glasgow's largest entertainment centres. All rooms have flat screen TV's with over 130 free view channels. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Free indoor and outdoor car parking.The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and amenities including 12 screen Odeon Cinema, ten -pin bowling venue, Mecca bingo, and Scotland's largest Casino, Alea. The hotel is within walking distance of Glasgow city centre, 5 minute's drive to Scottish Exhibition and Conference centre (SECC) , 5 minutes' drive to the Glasgow Central rail station, 5 minutes in a taxi from the O2 Academy and 15 minutes' drive to the Glasgow International Airport.We are proud to offer:Friendly helpful staff available 24/7165 en-suite bedrooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat screen televisionContinental Buffet Breakfast at £4.95 per person 24/7 "Fraiche" offering sandwiches, snacks and drinks.Very competitive pricesComfortable and modern roomsFree Wi-Fi availableFree car park Discounts for Ibis Budget hotel residents at restaurants located in Springfield quay (Ashoka at the Quay , Panda's, Chiquito and Alea)Guest are required to bring a form of personal identification when paying by cash. Acceptable forms of ID:· Valid photographic driving licence· Valid Passport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Glasgow
Ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Budget Hotel Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.