We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bonne Auberge

La Bonne Auberge
161 West Nile Street, Theatreland, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 (0)141 352 8310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $31 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: The original La Bonne Auberge first opened its doors on Bastille Day in 1975, and it's had something to celebrate ever since. Glasgow's first French-Mediterranean brasserie and Bar, this smart restaurant with its aproned waiters and blackboard menus now has an AA Rosette to confirm what the locals have known all along. Set in the fashionable Theatreland district, this is a feast of Riviera cuisine, with dishes including wild mushroom and leek risotto cake with grilled asparagus.
Surrey
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Good Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Came here for lunch during Commonwealth Games. Good quality food and decent value. Our experience was made by the staff though. Our main course took a long time to arrive and once this was noticed, it was chased up and three separate members of the team came to apologise for the delay with the main course (which was delicious!) being taken off the bill. Good to see that a potential poor experience could be turned around to the extent that we left as happy customers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Glad you enjoyed it, and I am happy that we manage to turn things around for you. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    140
    41
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Friendly staff, light refreshing summer menu. Good wine list with ability to buy in different quantities.
Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Glad you enjoyed it. You should come again soon as we have changed the wine menu since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Recently visited for a meal using a 50% off deal with tastecard. I went for the prix fixe menu for lunch and really enjoyed my mackerel rillette starter and my sea bass main course. My brother went for the Bonne Auberge burger and although he also found it tasty he thought that it was a bit oily, The service was fantastic. Overall I think the meal was good value because of the half price offer but would have been a bit pricey at full price. Would visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Glad you enjoyed the service, and I will forward your comment on to the kitchen about the burger.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My friends and I dined recently and had a great night. Staff were great, service was great and the food top rate. The restaurant was fairly busy and posed no problem to the staff. We were served, quickly with no fuss and would recommend to anyone for a great dinner. Superb.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Glad you enjoyed it. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We dined here in January and we all had a lovely meal, with plenty of choice, service was good, so happy to book again. Six of us booked lunch, menu was very restricted, four of us went for the rib eye steak as we didn't fancy the other choices. Bad move, all four steaks were poor, lots of grisel. did complain and they took one steak off the bill and gave us free tea or coffee. Service was very slow, two tables got served before us, The other two meals were lovely, so no complaints there. Definately will got go there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBA M, Manager at La Bonne Auberge, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is very important to us, so that we can continue to improve our service and the food. I will forward your comment on to the kitchen about the steaks. I am very glad that you like the rest of the food, and I do hope that you will give us another opportunity in the near future to come and dine with us. We are about to change the menu, so stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Auberge also viewed

 

Been to La Bonne Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bonne Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.